We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, this is a wonderful place to relax & enjoy Wanaka”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, this is a wonderful place to relax & enjoy Wanaka”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a very relaxing stay at this wonderfully appointed hotel. The property fronts directly onto the Lake with wonderful grounds and park benches to take in. You would probably want a car if heading into town, however it is only a 20min walk along the lake front.

For the cycling enthusiasts, the mountain bikes which were included in our rate (and also offered for hire) were of a very high standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorak_5291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on Edgewater.

Sounds like you had one of our special packages, with mountain bike hire included. There are some great trails around Edgewater and throughout Wanaka.

We welcome you back to continue your exploration.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    255
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
186
380
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and this was one of the best places we stayed in NZ.

Initially planned for 2 nights but then extended it.

The service was very good including check in,the restaurant and cafe.

Rooms were clean. Plenty of room including kitchen.

Beautiful view over lawn and Lake Wanaka. Very restful. Enjoyed friendly service in cafe while having a beer and looking at lake and mountains.

Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We got a lakeside room and it was a beautiful view of Lake Wanaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 396Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Kia Ora Richard

We love to hear when our guests extend their stay. So pleased we could help provide such a nice time for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment here, clean, roomy with a lounge, kitchenette with mod cons. Our unit is on the ground floor facing the lake. With the well manicured lawn just right outside our doorstep, our little boys get to step out and run on the lawn, with very picturesque view of the mountain and the Wanaka lake. Even though it was a short drive to the shops it was still very convenient.
Overall a very relaxing place for people who want to spend quiet quality time with family. IMHO a much better place to destress compared to the very busy Queenstown. Queenstown is still beautiful and action packed but Wanaka is really the place to rest and relax.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor units you can just walk right out along the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amuseboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Kia Ora

We are pleased you and your family had such an enjoyable stay at Edgewater.

You are correct, the environment is very relaxing and tranquil.

Thank you once again.

Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice room, comfy bed, gorgeous setting. Nice walking path along the Lake Wanaka. The town of Wanaka is a short distance away. Dinner was very good. Enjoyable stop on our trip through the South Island.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jocarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Kia Ora

Pleased you had such a nice time at Edgewater during your recent South Island travels.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

PROS
LOCATION
If you pay for the lake front units you will be absolute lakefront with an expansive lawn between your unit and the lake.
There is a path along the lake and you have an easy walk into town (appox 2 1/2 k's).

STAFF - fabulous young folk with a great attitude who provide excellent service.

ACCOMMODATION
-We had 103 which was lake front. The views were stunning.
The bed was dressed in the style where the linens were washed every cleaning, i.e.,the quilt was covered by sheets. I always prefer this over blankets because you just don’t know the last time they were washed.
-Our one bedroom plus living room with kitchenette was spacious with comfortable albeit sparse stock standard furnishings.
-Bathrobe
-Very quiet sleep except for "see below"
CONS
ACCOMMODATION
-The rooms were tired and in need of an update.
No side tables or coffee table upon which to place glasses in lounge area.
The only outside seating (we were on the ground level - the resort is two levels high) were two small wooden benches. Perhaps lounge chairs are not provided due to esthetic considerations but I would have loved to have been able to loll outside my room in comfort.
There was no art in the rooms. For what is charged I expected more.
A suggestion, commission a local photographer and frame a few pix. Truly, there was nothing on the walls of 103.

Thin walls and ceilings compounded by creaky floor boards made for noisy neighbours. We could hear toilets flushing in middle of the night and early morning showers.

Dirty carpets- we showered in the morning and wore socks and sneakers all day. When we got back to our unit we bared our feet and within a half hour our feet were filthy. This is just not acceptable.

Lousy internet – they use a company called Surfspot which was painfully slow.

We paid $280 per night in shoulder season which I believe is the cheapest time to stay here. I hope this establishment ups their game. I am a Kiwi, not a one time customer, and I would love to return once they do.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuSu_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Kia Ora Su Su

Wow what an extensive and thorough review, both positives and negatives.

With regards to your negatives. The rooms aspects are noted and we are looking at refurbishment plans at present.

The internet is a tricky one. We went free with wi-fi just before Christmas and I can assure you there was significant technical demands behind improving our internet at that time. The beauty of where Edgewater is located (amongst amazing mountains) also proves challenging to get strong, consistent signals. Sometimes too it can be the demands of what is going on in Wanaka and around Edgewater at any given time.

We're sorry to hear of your experience re the carpet. As we've just come through a hot dry summer, with low lake levels we have noticed an increase of dust around the hotel.

Some of the other areas you noted are structural unfortunately.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on 20th March. Nice location, about a 25min walk around the lake into town, overlooking the tranquil duck pond. We found it very peaceful and relaxing, nice to sit in the
cafe and enjoy the view. Although the rooms are a little dated, everything was very clean, neat and tidy, the kitchen had everything we needed. We would go back and stay again and the price we felt was good value for money. We didn't mind being out of town a little as we enjoyed the walk around the lake. We would stay on the ground floor next time to allow direct access to the lovely grounds.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end right near the stairs leading down to the ground floor, it was a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolumpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Kia ora,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater.

As you've pointed out, Edgewater is set within a tranquil environment and we're pleased you enjoyed strolling around the lakefront.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed in room 106 and it's on the first floor with the balcony facing the lake (just 20 metres away). You can lie on your bed looking at the lake all day. Would be great to get a ground floor room facing the lake if u wanna stay here. Clean room and friendly staffs. Rented a bike for $15 for few hours , suppose to be for an hour only but the receptionist mishka offered to give more time on it ! One of my fav hotels in NZ so far...

Room Tip: Get a room near the "1" series...ground floor facing lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie_Lucky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Kia Ora Goldie

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay and really relaxed. Great news that Mishka extended the rental time on our mountain bikes.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing