We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely room!”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

It seems we got upgraded when we did our online booking. We had a huge 1 bedroom apartment with a lovely view of the gardens. It was very well fitted out, complete with a kitchen and clothes washer.

The bed was comfy and there were two large televisions in the apartment.

It was a bit of a walk to town (about 20 minutes) but it was beautiful as it was all by the lakes edge. The only downside was that the walls did not provide good sound insulation so we could sometimes hear the adjoining guests through them.

It was so spacious and comfortable with a great view and a great price that I would definitely return here again if I was in Wanaka.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Keith

We appreciate your comments about Edgewater, especially your huge suite/apartment.

I am sorry about the noise between the walls but pleased you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had two nights at the hotel with a lovely room overlooking the lake. Breakfast and lunch were great. Unfortunately the outside hallway lights come through into the main bedroom. There are curtains but they ineffective in stopping the light shining into the bedroom. I considered removing the bulb that was burning all night (planet-unfriendly) but would have needed a screw driver. It was quiet though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where there is no light shining into the bedroom all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Jamie

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences at Edgewater, especially with regard to our lakefront location and dining options.

I am sorry however that the light was so obtrusive for you. I am assuming you only stayed one night? Our team would have been happy to work with you to solve this if you had stayed on.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. We were given a very spacious room with a panoramic view over the lakeshore.The view is wonderful. Very pleasant staff. Just outside town, but within walking distance, following the path along the shore of the lake.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nils R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Nils R

We appreciate you writing this review and so pleased you enjoyed you time with us at Edgewater.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent five nights here and would recommend it to others. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a great relaxing stay by the lake. I'd recommend getting one of the apartments if you have children for some extra space. There's a lovely cafe on the lake which is great for a coffee or a beer in the sun

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank LaurieAnnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Kia Ora Laurie Anne

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Edgewater.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and it is great you enjoyed the Wineglass cafe, with its fabulous view.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a very relaxing stay at this wonderfully appointed hotel. The property fronts directly onto the Lake with wonderful grounds and park benches to take in. You would probably want a car if heading into town, however it is only a 20min walk along the lake front.

For the cycling enthusiasts, the mountain bikes which were included in our rate (and also offered for hire) were of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moorak_5291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on Edgewater.

Sounds like you had one of our special packages, with mountain bike hire included. There are some great trails around Edgewater and throughout Wanaka.

We welcome you back to continue your exploration.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and this was one of the best places we stayed in NZ.

Initially planned for 2 nights but then extended it.

The service was very good including check in,the restaurant and cafe.

Rooms were clean. Plenty of room including kitchen.

Beautiful view over lawn and Lake Wanaka. Very restful. Enjoyed friendly service in cafe while having a beer and looking at lake and mountains.

Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We got a lakeside room and it was a beautiful view of Lake Wanaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 396Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Kia Ora Richard

We love to hear when our guests extend their stay. So pleased we could help provide such a nice time for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment here, clean, roomy with a lounge, kitchenette with mod cons. Our unit is on the ground floor facing the lake. With the well manicured lawn just right outside our doorstep, our little boys get to step out and run on the lawn, with very picturesque view of the mountain and the Wanaka lake. Even though it was a short drive to the shops it was still very convenient.
Overall a very relaxing place for people who want to spend quiet quality time with family. IMHO a much better place to destress compared to the very busy Queenstown. Queenstown is still beautiful and action packed but Wanaka is really the place to rest and relax.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor units you can just walk right out along the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amuseboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Kia Ora

We are pleased you and your family had such an enjoyable stay at Edgewater.

You are correct, the environment is very relaxing and tranquil.

Thank you once again.

Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
516 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £107 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing