We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edgewater !!!!! Wonderful hotel”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Edgewater !!!!! Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a location,so beautiful!!!The hotel has a great location..The view is just awesome..U can anytime take a walk along the lakeside..very quite,pure and serene.Fantastic view from the room..The service of the hotel is remarkable,clean and neat.Our room had a balcony...just loved this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Take a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Edgewater.

We appreciate your words about our lakefront location, views and service.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    255
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
187
380
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Edgewater turned out to be just what we needed on our long tour of NZ. Location, location, location is the mantra of real estate and although there were some minor issues our room (410) on the first floor with a balcony that faced the lake and received the morning sun was perfect. The main room (at least 35sqmetre, cooking facilities, 2 sofas, tv, ipod radio, corner window seat area plus a main full height patio door window/balcony had an uninterrupted view across a lawn to the waters edge where we watched many times the ducks, the odd swimmer, rowers and especially at sunset the landscape on the far side of the lake which had me thinking of the impressionists paintings of the southern med in Europe. We noted that many of the other accommodation providers that touted their lake view were positioned on the other side of the main drag road around the village, Edgewater isn't- so you have peace and quiet.
We were blessed with glorious sunny weather and needing to slow down spent a lot of time in the apartment relaxing which was fine. There are not really sights in Wanaka, you do need the good weather for any extended stay so you can do the usual NZ sporting activities- walking, cycling etc.
We had a separate bedroom with another tv and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was adequate but had the advantage of a washer drier which gave us the opportunity to do a clothes freshen up.
Not sure how old the estate is, I can imagine that when it first opened it would have received 5star reviews, it does have some signs of dating, as though the eye has been taken off the ball. As others have commented the ambience in the breakfeast room is a bit of a let down, ok food, we paid for the expresso coffees only $4, could only think the room is too small that it comes over a bit cafe like. Dont get me wrong this is minor considering your accomodation is comfortable, the tvs , furniture are up to date for eg, its overall location and ability to make you feel you are in your own lakeside apartment is what wins.
Check out the home website, we got a deal that included breakfeast, mountain bike and kayak hire all at a good rate.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Kia Ora

What an amazing and extensive review. I believe it is the longest and most in depth review we've seen in this forum for a long time.

So pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we hope, someday in the future you will be able to come back and enjoy once again.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I took our parents there in the early May. Right after checking in, we immediately took a walk along the riverside. The view was gorgeous. Unlike the other hotels with the lake view, the Edgewater was also very quite. Really good choice for enjoying a relaxing family stay.If the WIFI could have been more stable, it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the lake. You can walk directly to the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySarahSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Happy Sarah

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate it and pleased you enjoyed our lakefront location.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay. Room was very well spaced, wonderful views, kids absolutely loved it. Good activities around like tennis, mini putt and most of all to find the spa right beside the tennis court. Excellent staff and service provided. Was great having washer n dryer in the room itself.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aartikac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Kia ora,

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments about Edgewater.

Sounds like you were in a suite or apartment, which as you rightly point out, feature a washing machine/dryer which are handy for guests.

Thanks too for your kind comments on our team and we're pleased your enjoyed our activities.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Edgewater hotel in Wanaka is very nice, with the view over the lake being the main selling point. Room was nice, clean and spacious. It's about a 20 minute walk along the lake to the town centre .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Kia ora

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on Edgewater and look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka and Edgewater in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My partner, myself and our 2.5yr old recently stayed using a booking through wotif.com. Upon arrival Wanaka turned on a beautiful sunny day and we found ourselves able to sit on our deck and enjoy the views from our lovely
upstairs apartment. The only thing that let this place down for a "family" visit was the state of the onsite playground. From the point of Occupational Safety and Health, the trampoline should NEVER have been in operation! There were springs missing, mats that came off exposing about a metre drop AND a slit in the actual canvas ... very dangerous! This needs to be rectified or else the trampoline should be removed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmzMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit to us at Edgewater. We're pleased you enjoyed your room and the sunny day in Wanaka.

Less so about the state of the trampoline and this has been noted by us for attention.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We Stayed 3 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the lake, very quite and roomy. The breakfast selection was great, and we had a very nice evening meal (Group function). They staff were very accommodating for our large group of 100+ people.
The room Included a clothes washer drier, full kitchen and a couple of TV's.

Room Tip: Get a 1 Bedroom Suite - check Wot-if for Bed and Breakfast deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fezza456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Fezza

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Edgewater.

Sounds like you enjoyed your time, especially your function.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing