We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Holiday”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Quiet, peaceful and great food ,to go with beautiful surroundings. Great place to stay and relax in Wanaka NZ. Easy to find and great views of the lake and mountains. Units are private and quiet. Wanaka is an ever changing place, having gone there for the last 40 odd years it never fails to come up with something new, or just old and bigger ie THE MAZE and Puzzle House and the shopping is ALWAYS good.

Room Tip: Back units have no one walking by
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoniayBakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear ColoniayBakery

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences of your time with us and in Wanaka. It certainly is an ever-changing destination.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    255
    72
    20
    14
See reviews for
186
379
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had a lovely apartment here. It offered all modern conveniences and was very clean & comfortable - plus exceptionally spacious! Perfect for a family. We had a kitchenette, so we ate in, so can't comment on the food, but the setting & ambience were super. We had a hire car & were skiing most of the time,so didn't need to walk into Wanaka, which admittedly would be a bit of a hike if you were going out for dinner at night.
If I had to find a fault - the only thing I could say was that the hot pool, wasn't really hot - just warm, according to the kids.
I would recommend this to anyone! July 2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bittenbytravelbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Bittenbytravelbug4

Sounds like you had a great time with your family and enjoyed the skiing on offer in the Wanaka region.

Sorry to hear about the hot pool however. We do ensure this is emptied very regularly - especially during the heavy use we experience in the winter time. It does take a little bit of time to re-heat however.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We came here for a few days as part of a group of friends doing a South Island trip, the person who handled our check-in (Rachel) was really helpful in sorting out a few irregularities that had crept into the booking and generally getting things set up for us, we got a fantastic room close to the water's edge with a kitchenette and (basic) laundry facilities, in the morning we woke up to the sun coming in the windows and a clear view over the lake. The staff were really helpful, and all in all we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Anything facing out onto the lake (which most rooms do) is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuturiwhata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Tena koe

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your mention of Rachel and the other staff you came into contact with.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

a bit dated around the edges; very neat and clean; the views from rooms in sections 4 to 7 will be very nice; we had one large room (one king bed) with a lounge and a kitchen area. Our party had another room that had a queen and a single bed. The second room was very cramped. Each room had its own access to a beautiful green lawn with a small pond that opens on to the footpath by the lake. Location wise this is outside town - a good 20 min to half an hour walk. The beds are soft. Pillows are ok. Insulation / heating in the larger room lounge area was bad. The toilets and kitchens are well stocked. Breakfast both cooked and continental is available. This is a pretty standard affair. Room service is available. Internet was free and speed was ok. Overall if you have a car then this is a a very good option. We had 2 toilets - one for each room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Kia Ora

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. You certainly covered a range of aspects of the property clearly.

From your review it appears you stayed in suite room and your friends in a hotel style room. As you rightly point out they all have views and access to the lawn.

We are sorry to hear that you felt the cold during your stay. I hope the radiator heaters in both rooms of the suite were working correctly. We would have been happy to check this for you.

Currently one of our rooms has been refurbished as a prototype test room for a hotel wide guest room refurbishment. This will be undertaken in stages and we look forward to this commencing in 2015.

Regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

we had a super week at Edgewater in August 2014. Being away from the center of Wanaka means the resort is generally very peaceful and the absolute lakefront setting unbeatable. 10 minute walk to Wanaka township on a lakeside path. ($10 taxi ride)The one bedroom suite we had was spacious and comfortable, very warm with a kitchenette that we put to good use. Staff were super friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant once and it was of a very good standard.Housekeeping staff very thorough. We will stay again I am sure.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a lakefront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdsferrylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Kia Ora

We appreciate your comments after you week-long stay in August. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Edgewater is a lovely apartment complex close to the lake and surrounded with countryside. The apartments themselves are a little tired but they are clean and well equipt. There is a communal laundry facility which is great value for money. The restaurant is average, the breakfast basic but the staff are very friendly and helpful. We tried our hand at mountain biking which was on the tough side, and had a round of golf on the putting green. The views from the hotel garden were just breathtaking...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathalieBAltrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Kia Ora

We're pleased you enjoyed our breath-taking location at Edgewater and trust you enjoyed the bike-ride and round of golf - even if the ride was a little tough!

Thanks for your feedback on the apartment style accommodation. We are in the early stages of a planned guest room upgrade. A prototype room has been completed and we are planning a staged roll out of upgrades over coming months. This will take some time however.

We've noted your comments about our dining option too.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed over for a week holiday.
First booked a double room but were disappointed by the small size and old interior even if the view was great.
It is more like a motel style with units spread over off the reception area.
Upgraded to the suite and kept the same stunning view over the lake but got so much more space.
Worth the extra bucks.
Self contained you can cook your own brekkie and save anyway.
Amazing bathroom with 2 showers and one tub. 2 sinks. Real luxury.
Salon is a bit old but does the job for the odd night in in front of TV.
A relatively long walk from the restaurants in the evening, we drove. Nice during the day for a stroll around the lake.

Room Tip: We picked the one upstairs to avoid noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krugemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Krugemann

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences during your stay with us.

We are pleased we you enjoyed your suite, after the upgrade process, especially the spacious bathroom, views and kitchenette facilities.

Edgewater is currently in the process of upgrading our guest rooms. A prototype room has already been completed and following feedback on that room we are planning to progress upgrades throughout all the guest rooms. As you appreciate the hotel has quite a few rooms so it will take us time and so as keep disruption to a minimum, will be undertaken in stages.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing