We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A completely rejuvenating stay (even with three young children)”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Fantastic hotel - location is peaceful and beautiful, just beside the lake. A gorgeous lakeside path leads to town, but we spent most of our time at the resort. We stayed in a two room apartment - plenty of room for a family of five, with a very large tv/kitchen room between the two. There is a very relaxed lounge/restaurant in the reception building for the children to visit in the evening, and a small playground/trampoline out front, The staff are truly welcoming and lovely - couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
Thank mewithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2010

Dear mewithkids,

Thank you for the wonderful review you recently left us! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your family had a relaxed time with plenty of space. This is exactly what we like to hear!

Your comments regarding our staff were also great to see, and I will be sure to pass on these kind words.

I hope you and your family will consider us again in the future, as we'd love to have you back!

Kindest regards,
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator - Edgewater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

Rooms outdated and tired but clean and warm! Excellent and professional friendly staff, food was great and the big open log fire was just the trick after a (freezing) days touring. Try the speights and then a few ports!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

From the point of check in, I had a good feel about this place. The lady at the check in counter was very friendly & helpful and so was the porter who helped with our bags. Upon entering the room, we were very impressed. A small little thing like preparing a cot for our toddler when we didn't ask for it went a long way for us. It just showed that the staff were meticulous enough to note we had a little one amongst us. The view of the Lake from our 2 bedroom apt were breathtaking and we had a great time in the garden where my toddler could roam freely and safely. The room was huge, spacious, clean & modern. This was a great stay and I wished I could have stayed more than 1 night here. It's quite a distance to walk to town but we drove, so distance was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deminet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

I only stayed the one night but it would be a very comfortable base for exploring the area. I went for the cheapest room I could and it came with kitchen, sitting area separate bedroom. The room had a balcony with partial lake view. The hotel is located on the lakeside outside the town about a twenty minute walk away. For some reason the restaurant was not available for dinner so ate in their cafe. Probably the same menu and quality was good but as there was also a tour group staying independant guests were sat in a side area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GravyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The hotel sits right on the lake and the views and access to the lake cannot be beat. Unfortunately, thats where the praise ends. They take a beautiful spot and plunk down an outdated dull hotel without any warmth. Its a real tragedy as it would take little more than a smile at the front desk, comfortable mattresses and just basic interior design to make it fabulous. But the rooms are bare and uninteresting and without color. They don't even bother to put out chairs on your deck so you can enjoy the lawn down to the lake. And they misrepresent their extras-- the mini golf course is a 9 foot by 15 foot putting green with nine holes drilled in it. The bikes and canoes are old, worn and inaccessible, and the spa is a dirty cold whirlpool. So if great location is enough, it creates access. If you expect any extras forget it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drewhughru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2010

Dear TripAdvisor member,

I wish to thank you for your encouraging comments on our lakeside views. Regarding the decor, I apologize our rooms were not what you had originally imagined, we at Edgewater aim to create a relaxed ‘home away from home’ type atmosphere, and feel our unpretentious look defines and reinforces that, see photos on main page.

I apologize for the confusion over our putting green, we do not have a mini golf course. This information may possibly have been misrepresented in some third party collateral. In response to the absence of chairs on your deck, ground floor rooms have either built in bench seating or two chairs, whilst upstairs rooms provide two outdoor chairs on the deck. Without further information on the room of your stay I am unable to provide any further comments on this.

With regards to your observations of our kayaks and bikes, we updated our fleet of mountain bikes to new 2010 TREK 3 series bikes, and purchased three new kayaks, but due to delivery issues we did not receive these until the end of January.

We also acknowledge your comments regarding our spa pool and am happy to advise we have just finished completely refurbishing this area including the installation of two large Chelsee Sundance Spas.

We appreciate your constructive comments and do our best to react positively to feedback from our guests.

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator – Edgewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We paid $280 a night and I had negotiated breakfast in. Well the breakfast was so bad we only had it the first morning. After that we stuck with our home made musel, fresh fruit etc in our room. It also put us off dining at the hotel so we cannot comment on that aspect.

Nice peaceful location although rooms very dark inside. Our shower room was a joke too.

All in all too expensive and not to be recommended.

PS (Very disappointed to be charged for WIFI after paying for such an expensive hotel)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moooose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2010

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your comments in regards to Edgewater, we do appreciate all customer feedback and after reading your review, I am happy to advise we have had a total revamp of our breakfast product and the presentation of such.

With our newly built ice well displays we offer a selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts, sliced cheeses and continental meats along with a wide selection of pastries and breads in conjunction with the traditional breakfast fare of cereals, juices and hot produce one would expect. I have loaded two photos of our new breakfast buffet for your perusal which should be available for viewing shortly.

Kind regards,
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator - Edgewater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

What a beautiful place to stay! We had a view of the lake and we could walk straight across the lawn to the water's edge. The gardens are well kept and it made a lovely evening walk, in one direction reaching vineyards, in the other direction (inn 20 minutes or so) the little town, with a good choice of restaurants, cafes, and outdoor clothing/equipment shops. We ate in the bar, and had some tasty food, served with a smile, although the vegetarian choice was very limited (and we were driven inside by insects in the end).
A good sized room with a lovely big and clean bathroom.
The rooms are arranged in little blocks, which means some are upstairs with no lift, so ask for a ground floor room near the reception area if that's a problem.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £96 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing