We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edgewater resort”
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2007

We found the accomodation very clean but mediocre, not one of our memorable overnight stays in South Island. The decor was tired and the bed and pillows rather past their best. Having read on the hotel website about the gourmet food etc I have to say we were disappointed both with dinner and breakfast. Dinner was too fussy, with clashing flavours, strange combinations and tough steak. Breakfast was just there for you to help yourself - no matter what time you came into the dining room. We found the dishes in heated trays rather overcooked and unappetizing and we were refused a simple boiled egg. One sensed that coach parties were the prime concern and individual guests came second. This is not a hotel for discerning travellers although it was obvious that the coach parties were having a great time. The hotel is in a lovely position with good views of the lake. There are very good laundry facilities which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UTFDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2007

I stayed 5 nights here and really enjoyed it. It is a lovely property, very nice rooms with kitchen and living room and balcony overlooking the lake. It was like all the stress just flowed out instantly on arrival. The breakfast was the same each day but that is to be expected, although they had a very nice homemade stewed rhubarb one day. The staff were very nice, and nothing seemed to much trouble for them. I had a meal at the bar one night and room service another which was very nice. The restaurant was fully booked, which it seemed to be most nights.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DowJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

Very nice, clean comfortable resort style hotel. A little far away from the main street in Wanaka. That was the only dissapointment as every day we were there and wanted to go into town, we had to drive a few minutes. You could actually walk along the lakefront to reach the center of town. It would be about a 20 minute walk.

We stayed in a really big apartment style room. Very comfortable, with big glass doors that open right up to the grassy courtyard and flows down to the lake's edge.

A beautiful place. Only downside, slight distance from center of town.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank khc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2007

What a fantastic find! I stayed there with my wife and daughter in Feb 07, in a lakefront one-bedroom suite. The patio doors opened onto a beautiful grass lawn leading directly to Lake Wanaka. The views were incredible. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, particularly the reception staff and manager of the bar restaurant. I asked her to recommend something long, cool, and non-alcoholic to drink; I don't know what it was that she came up with but it was gooood!

The accommodation couldn't be faulted, the location was breathtaking and the food excellent and reasonably-priced. Our only regret was that we could only stay for 1 night. We loved this hotel!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank TheAviatorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

We had the pleasure of staying one night at Edgewater Resort. Pity we couldn't live here - excellent - more 5* than 3*. My mouth hit the floor when we opened the door to our apartment - first class. There was a small kitchen, living room, dining area, beautiful bedroom, a huge bathroom with 2 sinks, a double shower and double bath. There was also a washer/dryer in the bathroom. This was the most impressive place I stayed during our tour of NZ. We had a lake view and a balcony.

The dinner was out of this world - the presentation was brilliant and the desserts works of art. I chose the chocoholics delight and it was divine. The breakfast area was mad busy the following day but there was a good enough selection. I could not fault this resort and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donegaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2007

Fantastic spacious room with wonderful view over lake. Beautifully decorated with tranquil colours and very chic furniture in the sitting room and dining area. Friendliest staff we have come across. Great fish & chips in the bar. Wanted to stay for longer and explore more of the facilities. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_and_Candice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

What a gem – really nice resort type hotel right on the shore of Lake Wanaka-great views. Rooms well furnished, ours had a lake view, king sized and single bed. Really nice looking restaurant & bar area. Internet computer available in reception. About 30 mins comfortable walk along the lakeside into the town of Wanaka. Continental breakfast @ $15 each. Cost was GB£89, good value, I thought.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
533 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
20.6 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort Cromwell
1.6 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £101 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing