We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautifully located hotel. Staff are excellent.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautifully located hotel. Staff are excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Our room was facing the lake..you could even walk out to the grass & lake. It was a great experience.

Food choice could be improved as the choice is limited & so could the TV channel choice for kids!

Free parking :)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
Hi apbanerjee,

Thank you for your recent review of Edgewater. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the view, there is no doubt we have the best lakeside location in Wanaka!

I am sorry you felt our food choice was limited, but I am sure you found what you did have to be enjoyable! We are proud of the dishes we create from local produce and are often complimented on our delicious fare.

We will also be looking into your comments regarding children's channels.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you here again soon!

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    233
    65
    17
    11
See reviews for
171
335
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Had a one bedroom unit downstairs overlooking the lake. Very clean and comfortable, quiet, great view, very peaceful. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Expensive but worth it as a wedding anniversary. Bit far to walk to town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjb185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 January 2011
Hi cjb185,

Thank you for your recent review of Edgewater, we appreciate all your comments regarding your comfortable room, the views, and the peace you experienced while staying here. We hope to see you again soon as you are not far from Wanaka...in my own hometown - Invercargill!

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Pro:
- views of the lake and mountains are first class.
- rooms are nicely laid out and comfortable.

Con:
- pricey
- they say it is a 10 minute walk to town. it is more like double.
- they lost my reservation. luckily, i had confirmation and they were able to correct quickly.
- breakfast is very expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Brennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 19 December 2010
Dear P_Brennan,

Thank you for your recent review of Edgewater, we appreciate all feedback, whether it be glowing or whether it have some constructive criticism.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our lake and mountain views, we are the only hotel in Wanaka to offer such fantastic proximity to the lake with such stunning views. I am also glad you found the rooms comfortable, something we take pride in.

I am very sorry to hear that your reservation was lost, but glad our front of house staff managed to remedy the situation at once. As you can imagine with any computer systems there will always be minor glitches, however we are sorry that you had to experience it!

Your feedback on our room prices has been taken into account, and also your views on our breakfast pricing and options. As you can understand December in New Zealand is our absolute peak month, so prices are naturally a bit higher, just like most other hotels throughout the world during the Summer months.

One thing I will say however, is I am confused as to how you thought we were a 10 minute walk? On all of our collateral and materials we have specifically said we were a 20 minute walk from town and a five minute drive. I apologise if someone told you otherwise.

Thank you again for your review and we wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas!

Kind regards,

Ellen Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Plz visit this place in lake wanaka...so there is nothing much to see in Wanaka, we went to this place for rest and this resort is worth the cost...the location is amazingly beautiful. just outside our cottage there was a lake...it was just out of the fairy world...i loved this place...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HippoAndTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
Hi charmie-sha,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself and your surroundings! We admit, the lake is something to behold! Be sure to come back as soon as you can, we'd love to have you!

Kind regards,
Ellen Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

The Edgewater Resort on the shores of a large lake is in a lovely setting. The hotel lower the rake rate immediately, as the season hadn't started. We had a lovely room with a view of the water. Good services offered at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We were so pleased when we got here, they were very friendly at the desk our room was really nice great views as we were right on the lake, Very modern place first one we had got to with flat screen tv. the bed was very comfortable and the restaurant was very welcoming and the food was great. A range of activities from canoes to some great walks close to the ski fields we wish we had planned more nights here. It was a little out of town maybe a 20 min walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ikec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear ikec,

Thank you very much for your recent review of Edgewater on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you had a great time and you felt comfortable and well looked after! Also loved your comments on the restaurant and the food, we have just switched our menu to a lovely spring-infused theme, so glad you got to taste and enjoy!

We would love to have you come back! Remember us for next time you are in beautiful New Zealand.

Kind regards
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator
Edgewater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

What a great location. Just left here for the UK. I would recommend this place for all. Beautiful setting overlooking lake. Staff were attentive and noting was a problem. Love the kitchen and suite accommodation especially with children.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review, 22 August 2010
Dear Marcosplace,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Edgewater. I am so pleased to read your comments regarding our front of house staff, I will be sure to pass these comments on!

I hope you and your family can make the trip back to New Zealand in the near future as we'd love to have you stay again!

Kindest regards,
Ellen Cairns
Marketing and Event Sales Coordinator - Edgewater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater

Property: Edgewater
Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing