We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total indulgence.Heli ski week at Whare Kea lodge .Hedonist's nirvana!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Total indulgence.Heli ski week at Whare Kea lodge .Hedonist's nirvana!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

What a way to do it! Heli ski heaven staying at the most beautiful place ,Whare Kea lodge.
Six stars for accommodation ,Perfect surrounds ,impeccable service and food that defies description .....Yum!!!!!!
Can't wait to do it all again next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turnalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We have stayed at Whare Kea twice - once with a group of friends (we took the whole lodge) and once solo. We returned later in the year for a week to fish rivers around Lake Wanaka with a guide recommended by the lodge. It was a memorable experience. We liked being well away from the rather suburban little town, and although we had thought we would eat out, the food was too good to miss. Also special dietary requirements were creatively adhered to by the chef, so that one would not have known that a low salt, low fat diet was essential. Food was sourced from top suppliers and we were told exactly where our lamb was bred, our fish was caught and so on. Definitely a place for foodies!

It is expensive compared to the lodges recommended - but it is like comparing Beluga caviar with farmed salmon eggs - we would not b e interested in the lodges listed on Trip advisor, although normally I take this site's advice. We were not disturbed by others in the lodge as there is plenty of space to keep away from fellow guests and dine separately, apart from common courtesy on entering and leaving the very large living space. You are paying partly for not having to mix with the herd!

My one complaint was the difficulty occasionally of getting out of the large bath(with its great view) - I had a back problem and some kind of help attached to the wall or the bath would have helped. Also a comfortable stool in the bathroom. I told the staff who promised to hand my comment on to the owner. I was able to have an excellent massage - the masseur came in from the town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Each year a group of us has been staying for a week in Whare Kea to heli-ski the vast untracked slopes of the nearby mountain ranges. I must declare that I am a friend of the owner who hosts these weeks, and hence you should take this into account when reading this review.
However, having said that, it is the highlight of my year. The main aspect of this venue that I adore is that it encourages and facilitates interaction in both conversation and sporting activities (which abound nearby). The views are stunning overlooking Lake Wanaka, the colours of the lodge bright and alive, and the staff blend into the experience. Moreover, I have never tasted such great meals as the feasts the head chef produces. These are well beyond any restaurant fare I have ever tasted, and all are based on locally sourced delicacies. He delights in making tastes that are impossibly delicious. I always sleep very well there and find the beds very comfortable and cozy, but this might relate to the full-on skiing we do most days.
I saw some criticism of the rooms as a bit simple, but I guess I see this as a place to have some private quiet time and appreciate the lack of a TV. The rooms have wireless internet, phones and plenty of space for my needs.
I've only experienced Whare Kea in a group all with a common interest, but for this it is ideal, especially the heli-skiing. It's definitely an up-market lodge and the prices match, but it's a gem that could only survive with such quality (esp the food) if it's at the expensive end of the range. I always feel very relaxed when I go there, and for about a week (at least) upon my return to the real world.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgdarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2007

I had just arrived to New Zealand and headed directly to Wanaka, which is a beutiful little town - a very peaceful and soothing place. I was even more pleased when I got to the hotel. Hotel staff picked me up from town centre and we drove through the vineyard lands. The hotel is loceted almost on top of a hill and the view opens to lake Wanaka and the Alps - what a breathtaking landscape. There is also a path from the hotel to the town going along the hillside. It is worth taking the path at least once. Hotel staff is friendly and service is personal. I probably have never felt more welcome when arriving in a hotel. Also, the rooms are spacious and food delicious.

My favorite thing was to ask the staff to prepare hot tub ready for me early in the morning. It is outside on the hillside. When the air is still a little bit chilly and sun is rising, it is the lovelies feeling in the world to sit in warm water and enjoy the first moments of the day.

The staff is always there for you and they take good care of the guests. They will arrange all the activities for you and help you out planning your stay. I would recommend a helicopter ride to the alps. Helicopter can land on the hotel yard, so it is a convenient and easy way to see the glaciers and natural park area.

All in all I had a very pleasant and memorable stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Food and service
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sampo_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

This place is insanely expensive. The service is top notch. The food is top notch. I really liked dining with other guests. The main dining/living area is absolutely stunning. The view is absolutely amazing. But as other reviews noted, the rooms are not that great. Small and lack modern accessories. I suppose this place appeals to certain people who can afford $700/night and don't require anything but good food, good service, and a great view. But if I am going to splure I really need a great room. And this wasn't it. The shower didn't work well. They nickel and dime you for things like laundry and alcohol. Really for $700/night everything should be included except sex with the maid.

The view is really incredible but you can see it without staying here.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mskDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2005

Beatiful spot, above lake Wanaka, with huge walls of glass and views of the lake from every room. Fabulous food, and excellent personalized service. Rooms were nice, if not outstanding.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet

Property: Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet
Address: 494 Mt. Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting above the shores of Lake Wanaka, Whare Kea is the perfect luxury accommodation for families or groups of friends wishing to soak up the splendour of the area a private location. Our superbly comfortable lakeside lodge offers an ideal combination of shared and also private spaces well suited to accommodate small groups of up to 12 guest whether you prefer rest & relaxation or want to experience Wanaka's myriad of outdoor pursuits. Our fully equipped kitchen at Whare Kea allows guests to self-cater whilst looking out at the stunning vistas over Lake Wanaka. Alternatively, catering can be arranged. Additional Services to compliment your stay are extensive & unlimited with our property manager available to tailor make your exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whare Kea Lodge & Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whare Kea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing