We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wanaka

Wanaka
Book In Advance
More Info
US$137.82*
and up
Wine Tour with Wine Tasting from Wanaka
Ranked #2 of 73 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wanaka is a gorgeous place on wanaka lake.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
“Tranquil Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I walked to the lake Wanaka which is scenic with shops restaurants, the weather was very sunny and it was really nice here, I shopped at new World Supermarket which was v reasonable. The sunsets were beautiful, Wanaka is much quieter then Queenstown and it was very tranquil here, my favourite place in New Zealand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    204
    34
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Characterless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing location but not worth a daytrip; characterless. May be a good base for skiing but otherwise pass through to amazing scenery

Helpful?
1 Thank thereandbackagainNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful little community on the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in February 2014 and found that it was just about the right duration to spend time at the lake, explore the town and the surrounding countryside.Eely point is a good picnic spot with views back to the town. The drive up towards Haast was great with super views at Lake Hawea and the top part of Lake Wanaka. Super town and great base for exploring .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hattiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked to stay five nights in Wanaka as part of a much longer holiday and use it a base to get to various places including particularly the glaciers and Mount Cook. Although the town is delightful with a great view across the lake, some interesting attractions and a fine array of restaurants, we were a little stymied by thew fact that the coastal road to the glaciers was shut for 14 hours of the day (after a road collapse on the Haast Pass about 18 months previously) which made getting to the guided glacier walks all but impossible. We managed just one short walk up to the glacier at Fox before heading back to miss the road closure. Notwithstanding that, a great centre for walks or biking round the lake, and trips to Arrowtown, Cromwell and various vineyards.
We were slightly out of season and I imagine the two heights of season render the town extremely busy but it has a very nice vibe and friendly service throughout.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My daughter went here 10 years ago, and when I went I can see why she loved it. The lake is very pretty, and there were little shops and things to see. It's such a lovely little place, and to walk around the lake is so pretty. Just go and stay for a bit, look at the shops, and enjoy it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing