We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot overlooking the Lake”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

These small apartments overlook the lake and are in walking distance to most everything. Don't judge the town as just a tourist trap get out and walk to paths and you will love it.

Firm beds, nice bathtub, and lovely view. A little road noise but friendly staff and great place to use as a base, good food within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4oystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor and based on price. It was in a nice location that was walking distance to the town. The room was clean however we found the housekeeping lacked attention to detail but this was a minor issue in what was a well kept apartment. The cooking facilities are limited and do not live up to the expectations given on the hotel website. The staff are very friendly and were wonderful in assisting us with the local area. The laundry was good and useful for washing at the end of a days hiking. You can visit the local Parks and Wildlife on the edge of the town centre for comprehensive walking maps. I can recommend Mount Roy it is tough but you will not get a better view anywhere in Wanaka. Overall this hotel was good but slightly overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdoor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Picturesque views of the Lake and Mountains from our first floor studio balcony. Good coffee, restaurants, bars and shops just metres away. The Lake and park across the street. Beautifully furnished and appointed room. Friendly and obliging hosts. What more could you wish for - excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stunningnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Moorings is an easy walk to downtown Wanaka's shops and restaurants and right across from the lake. The hosts are incredibly accommodating; they even waived the wireless charges for us. The room has a small kitchenette and was very clean. We loved it and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stopped in Wanaka and found this hotel. Awesome views, excellent room and the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Thank you very much for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed beautiful Wanaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

One of, if not the best location in Wanaka. Views out over the lake towards Mt Aspiring. 100m from the shops, bars, and restaurants. Quiet. Very friendly service. Tidy and comfortable rooms. Incredible value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verywilltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our family stayed in a two bed 1 bath apartment at the rear of the complex with no view. ( the motel units at the front of the complex have spectacular views) Car parking was a nightmare as the undercover bay next to our unit was practically impossible to drive into. Perhaps a mini would be better suited .The unit was quite cosy and living area really too small for a teenage family and not relative to the 5 people it can sleep. (Next time we would opt for a 3bed apartment in the hope for a larger living area.) Saying that it was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The laundry was only open to guests after midday so there could be a bit of a queue at the end of the day. The location is ideal being only a three minute flat walk into the town. There is a great Thai restaurant within 1 minutes walk. We had stayed there before and would stay there again, as compared to other accommodation on offer in Wanaka it is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment towards the front and you may get a view and a parking bay you can use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skibuni5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
816 reviews
0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £102 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing