We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tie up at The Moorings”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tie up at The Moorings”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Warm, comfortable, the best beds we have ever had.
Good kitchen facilities, discreet but easily seen t.v. - should you need one in Wanaka? With those views?
Central, just a few minutes from the lakefront and the wonderful cafes there.
Good parking!
Friendly helpful service.
And fantastic views - lie in bed and watch the sun come up on the snowy mountain tops.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    129
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
278
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great to wake up to views of the lake and the location is really good. Walking distance to everything and no need to use your car. Everything you need is in the room which has a full kitchen. Room is medium sized and a small detail - television is medium size (usually like a large screen to watch from bed) but is was still good. Decor is middle of the road. Good parking and the hosts were pleasant. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieb107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We rented a 3 bed apartment for 5 adults, the apartment was of high quality with nice furnishings. Location excellent. My only critisism would be that for a 3 bed apartment the living and kitchen area was somewhat small. The bedrooms were spacious enough especially the main bedroom. Great gas log fire, lovely deck with BBQ and great views. In the summer the deck area would add to the living area making it much biiger as it opens up from the living room. management are very welcoming and helpful. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Very lovely comfortable rooms. The staff were friendly and always asked us how we were enjoying our stay. The view over the lake was just gorgeous and a very short walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhp_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Did a week long trip in NZ and this was our 3rd hotel stop for the trip. Staff at reception were VERY helpful and would do anything for you. Rooms were great, loved the headed floor tiles and towel racks, very helpful on the cold mornings and after skiing all day.

Felt like that the owners were in it for the $ at times and not the customer satisfaction. Had to pay $6 for 2hrs wifi which was rude considering most places we had been to previously offered it for free. And washing powder was $1 per packet whereas other places once again gave it to guests free.

All in all the location was great, very clean and nice homey feel to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Hello Miles
Thank you for your comments and we were pleased to hear that you were happy with the level of service you received during your stay with us at The Moorings. We strive to offer a superior level of service to all our guests and it pleasing to hear that we are achieving this.

We are sorry to note however that you felt management were 'in it for the money". We do feel this comment was a little unfair especially as upon your arrival you were upgraded to a superior apartment free of charge along with receiving complimentary wifi for the first day.

Thank you for taking the time to write and we have taken your comments on board. Thank you for visiting Wanaka and we hope the remainder of your trip was enjoyable.

Kind regards
The Moorings
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here when visiting our sons who were working for the ski season. We were on holiday from Scotland and made welcome in Wanaka. This is a good place to stay, good view of the lake, comfortable room, clean bathroom and a place to park the car. We would be happy to return here to stay again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Macleod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights while traveling around the South Island. The laundry facility was very convenient after finishing our backpack on the Milford Track because we had many clothes to wash. All the restaurants were within easy walking distance, and the view from our room of Lake Wanaka was very relaxiing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dort1gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing