We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a great time here. It was perfect for a easy ski accomodation which we needed with a young family. Being close to town meant we could easy walk to restaurants, shops, park etc.
The units had everything we needed and the hosts were very friendly and super helpful. Will stay here again and gladly recommend The Moorings to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hi Oliver, it was great to receive your review thank you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works very hard to meet our guests expectations and it is always very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours. Thanks also for your recommendation of our motel and we look forward to hosting you again. Kind regards the Moorings Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very nice place to stay,Hosts were great.Excellent views of the lake.The studio unit was lovely and clean .Will stay there again when in Wanaka. No need to drive into town as very handy to all Restaurants.I do recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Hi Caroline, Thanks very much for your review and recommendation of our Motel. It was great to hear you you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our lovely town and we hope to see you next time you visit! Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was a really great place to stay in Lake Wanaka. It was directly opposite the lake & close to restaurants & shops. No need to drive into town. The loft apartment was pretty cool & the kids loved sleeping upstairs with their own private bathroom. The staff were very friendly, helpful and interested. You couldn't ask for anymore. There is a ski drying room, mountain views, lake views, BBQ, outdoor seating. I would recommend The Moorings to travelling families. I hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulliBeachBum_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Its great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Apartments and that you had a wonderful time in Wanaka. It would be our pleasure to host you again in the future. Many thanks, The Moorings Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Have stayed twice at The Moorings - friendly service, clean, comfortable, attractive units and in the perfect position right across the road from the lake and just a couple of hundred metres to good restaurants. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John and Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear John and Alison, Thanks very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and Its very reassuring to hear that you will return again! Thanks so much and we look forward to hosting at a later stage. Kind regards The Moorings Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Good lake views, close to food, helpful owners, good laundry. Parking seemed limited - not a problem for us in the off season but I could see it being a problem in the busy season. The TV is very heavily sport focused - they seem to have selected 3 sport channels as their sky channels which is great if you like sport but less so if you are more interested in National Geographic or discovery. Overall a good place to stay, 4/5.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank EvilParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Guest,Thanks very much for taking the time to post your comments and it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Just to clarify, each of our units has an allotted car space and we have additional parks available at the rear of our complex if required. Our SKY sports coverage has now been reduced back to 2 sports channels. We had a 3rd sport channel for a group that was staying who wanted to watch a particular event. Unfortunately we could only change channels on a monthly basis with SKY.
Thank you again, your comments are appreciated. Kind regards The Moorings Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We, and approximately 40 of our wedding party, recently stayed with Nick and Karlene at The Moorings. We were spread across the units and also the apartments and had groups ranging from couples to threes and fours. Over the week we were there Nick and Karlene made us feel incredibly welcome and nothing was a problem. We were all welcomed and treated like part of their family and we could not have asked for better service and more down to earth kiwi hospitality. The rooms were spotless, well appointed and value for money. Our guests came from many different countries with different experience and expectations of this establishment. All were delighted and found their time, and interaction with the staff, refreshing and enjoyable. Great location, great accommodation options, great service but most importantly great people who added to the entire experience. Nick, Karlene - thank you.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Martin, Thank you so much for taking time to post your review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family and friends for your wedding and we were so pleased that everything ran smoothly for your special day - even the weather played its part! So glad everyone had a fantastic time. Thank you again for your kind comments, we wish you all the very best and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Nick and Karlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We booked into a lake front studio unit on the ground floor. The view from this unit is amazing. The unit was clean and warm and well equipped. The location is very close to town and restaurants. There was no noise from the above or the side units, which were all occupied. The road noise was also blocked out, so a great nights sleep. Good heating with underfloor tile heating in the kitchen area and bathroom. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. We left an item in our unit upon departure and were promptly rang about it. Great service. Free wifi for first 2 hours.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear David, Thanks very much for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction and its always a pleasure to return items to guests if we can! Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards The Moorings Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £102 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing