We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

Nicely situated on the shore of Lake Wanaka with a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains. Nicely appointed, very clean and well maintained motel with a good sized room with a sink, microwave and stove top. Not much else you can say except you have to be there to appreciate how spectacular this place is with the snow and the mountains at your front door,
We had tea at the Speights Ale House overlooking Wanaka Lake and with a mountain view. Nice location and a good meal at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — The carpark
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    120
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
57
259
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

The Moorings is in an accessible location and pleasantly situated facing a lake. It is advertised as a 4.5 star and after having been to Peppers Beacon in Queenstwon we were very disappointed. The price we paid was for a 4.5 star ( it was more expensive than what we paid at Peppers which was really worth it). What we got was a cosy ( not spacious at all) motel with budget chattels, finishing and whiteware. The master bedroom had only a peep of the lake.

  • Liked — Owner was pleasant
  • Disliked — The overprice
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2008

Outstanding little place. Unbelievable views of the lake, rooms are modern and very comfortable. The location is perfect, about a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town. We ended up breaking the shower head and were deliberating whether or not to be up front about it, expecting an extra fee on our bill, but decided to tell the owners as we were leaving. They thanked us for our honesty and were glad we told them so that they could have it fixed for the next guests. We were pleasantly surprised!

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshymellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

We made a last minute change in our plans and decided to spend a couple of nights in Wanaka en route to Te Anau and were not disappointed in our decision. I found The Moorings on line some how, I can't really remember. This hotel is perfectly located in the town of Wanaka, has great lake views, the room is very large with a kitchenette. The bathroom was a little smaller than I would have expected, but not a problem. The pictures on their web site are a bit deceiving, but overall, we really enjoyed staying in Wanaka and this hotel. This is a great little town with a real relaxing feel and quality. Be aware that the bars attract a young crowd and they stay open quite late. Both nights we were there, we were awakened at 1, 2 and 3 in the morning with intoxicated revelers passing the hotel on foot.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank moski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. The accommodation is contemporary and very clean. It had all of the required facilities and was very reasonably priced. It had a nice outdoor area and the first floor balcony had magnificent views of the lake and mountains. Wanaka is a beautiful place and has a great selection of restaurants and cafes. It has a much more relaxed atmosphere than nearby Queenstown and there are plenty of activities to do. The scenery is stunning and there are some amazing bike rides, walks and drives to do. For those with young children, there is a brilliant playground by the lake, which kept our toddler very happy.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgreenmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

We booked via the local Tourist Information and was not disappointed for the price range and location. It's set opposite the lake and so has nice views. Check-in was friendly and helpful.

The room was a decent size and well decorated. The bed was comfy and the bathroom adequate enough.

We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Value and views
  • Disliked — Not much to dislike.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

Wonderful views from our room of the lake and the mountains. The room was comfortable and beautifully clean. We sat on our balcony with a glass of red, looking at the sun on the water. Amazing.

Close enough for a short stroll into town for a decent meal in one of the many restaurants. However, don't overlook the excellent fish and chips prepared for the local estate agent - check local information given by the motel in each room. It was well worth the drive.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosies_mumLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing