We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, close to town, comfy beds”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, close to town, comfy beds”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Arrived at the moorings before going on a mountaineering trip. The staff were great, very helpful.
The location is fantastic, looking over Lake Wanaka to the mountains, a couple of minutes walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crossfitjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest, thanks very much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our views! We do appreciate you taking time to post your review, thanks again and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    124
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
270
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very good motel in an excellent location close to the town centre and with great views over the lake and mountains. Room was a good size, clean, well equipped and with a balcony. Friendly welcome. Could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms probably have a better view and are further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind comments, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and our lovely town. We look forward to hosting you again some time. Thank you and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Overall the place was fine. Clean room, nice view of the lake and reL cosy. I supposed what it lacked was Sky TV and also, I heard fights in the room adjacent to mine so I told the manager about it and he said "theres no one staying beside your room"



Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Allucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hello Allucio, Thank you for your review.I am pleased that you found the room nice and cosy as it was quite cold for the time you with us.Just a couple of points from your review. We do have 4 sky channels and also we have a large collection of dvds available at no charge.
As to the comment of people fighting, I did say that there was no-one in the adjoining units but I also said that I was not sure where it may be coming from. If you had reported it to reception at the time I am sure we could have fixed the problem. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hosts were very friendly and helpful at both check in and check out. We stayed 3 nights in a studio apartment on the ground floor and it was good to have a well-equiped kitchenette as we don't eat a big breakfast so were able to self-cater. The room was clean, nicely decorated and looked like it had been refurbished recently. The bed was very comfortable and the doubleglazing dampened down any light traffice noise so we slept well. There was a sofa and coffee table for relaxing by the window and a narrow desk against the wall, which we had to use as a dining table. The view across the lake was very peaceful and we enjoyed a glass of wine on the terrace as the sun went down.
The apartment was an easy walk to the town centre and excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: The view from the upstairs apartments would be uniniterupted whereas the groundfloor looks at the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Anne, Thanks so much for your review, it was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed Wanaka. Theres certainly nothing better than relaxing on the deck with a glass of wine watching the sun set over the lake! Thank you again and we look forward to perhaps hosting you at a later date. Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hosts are very welcoming and kind it must be said. However, the quality of the room was pretty poor considering the price. There are certainly many hotels in Wanaka which you would recieve much better quality for a similar room rate, so would advise people to look around first. The room was also very unclean which was not a nice way to start the trip. Poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Joe, Thank your for taking the time to post your review. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your unit. Cleanliness is one of our top priorities and we pride ourselves on the fact that many other guest reviews reinforce this and we are sorry that you did not notify us of the problem during your stay to enable us to rectify it. Once again our apologies and we do appreciate your feedback. Kind regards The Moorings Mangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay in Wanaka. The Moorings is ideally located close to everything. Really enjoyed our stay in a very comfortable 3 bedroom unit which was well equipped. Very accommodating hosts with nothing too much trouble.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Anna, Many thanks for your review. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you enjoyed our lovely town. It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a 6 night stay with our family of my parents, my husband and I and 2 young children. The 3 bed apartment was very clean and comfortable for all of us with a double and 2 x single beds with bath upstairs and double bed and bath downstairs. Great views of the mountains, with lovely small patio outside to catch the afternoon sun. Easy walk into town and across road from excellent kids playground, as well as fresh spring water from the mountains at the public water well. Owners were very attentive and helpful, good laundry and drying room for ski gear. Only thing would suggest to owners that they could improve is free wi-fi. Thanks Ian, you really looked after us and appreciated you going the extra mile for our family :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank V_A_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest, thanks very much for your review and it was great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Just a small point - we do offer our guests complimentary wifi upon arrival and we sincerely apologise if there was some confusion and you did not receive any, and recently we have just installed a new wifi system throughout our complex which will provide guests with a faster, stronger and more user friendly system!. Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing