We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and close to town”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and close to town”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

These are beautifully located apartments close to town with breathtaking views over Lake Wanaka and the mountains. Clean, well-equipped room with a lovely balcony to relax on with a glass of wine. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macnut577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking time to post your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction, and that you enjoyed Wanaka.
Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    125
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
272
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Right on the lake front, a short stroll to the majority of shops and clean and modern room. The staff were excellent and I found it be be amazing value. The room had all the furnishings you could need including wine glasses. We even opted to get take-aways and wine just so we could sit on our balcony and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Coco, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, thanks very much for your kind comments and yes we are very fortunate to enjoy our views every day! Its always great to hear our guests enjoying what Wanaka has to offer. Thanks again and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a really nice place to stay. Great location, right next to the lake and within 50 meters of several cafe's, places to eat and supermarkets. Great lake and mountain views. There is also a kiddie park right across the street. Really enjoyed our stay during Christmas.This could have been an excellent rating if not for the poor wifi connection which the owners could easily remedy by installing a $50 signal booster and the special prices that they offered to walk-in customers which were 15% cheaper then what we paid online months ago. Parking is a little tight. But the owners make up for it with their attitude and seem to enjoy their work and understand the hospitality concept.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreview77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest, thanks very much for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall.
Just a note on the internet - Telecom the main internet and telephone provider for NZ have been addressing the internet in Wanaka - it is not our individual internet but that of the main cable coming in to Wanaka as explained by the following from Telecom:-
Telecom - An Update / Explanation
"Over the past two weeks, we have seen an enormous increase in mobile traffic nationally compared to previous years. This increase has been particularly noticeable in holiday hotspots such as Wanaka, where consumption of mobile data was six times as high as last year (we had anticipated and planned a 2-3 times increase.) This explosion in mobile data is the result of our customers using data-heavy smartphone technologies and apps – such as Facebook, YouTube and Instagram - to share their experiences via pictures and videos. Unfortunately in Wanaka this jump in demand is coupled with a geography that makes it difficult to deliver mobile coverage.
Data volumes in the region were approximately two times higher over the same holiday period when compared to 2012 (and the Cardrona site data volume was roughly three times higher over the peak period).
To support Telecom customers during Christmas 2013, Telecom increased the number of our Radio Frequency carriers from 12 to 16. This was an investment of nearly $250,000 to augment the capability of these mobile sites supporting the Wanaka township.
Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion.Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion.
Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion.
Looking to the mid and longer term, the learnings from this summer will assist analysts in determining requirements for annual and quarterly planning for future usage peaks (including for the New Year 2014/2015). Wanaka will have 4G coverage by May/June 2014 and this will provide further relief for the growing mobile data consumption with faster on-demand access to services customers choose which turns around traffic faster and lessens the risk of congestion"
Hoping this clarifies it a bit and we are all looking forward to an improved service.
Thanks again and regards the Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Fantastic views of lake and mountains. A few minutes walk into town. The rooms were tastefully furnished and king bed very comfortable. In fact it was hard to find any fault. Hard to imagine any better in Wanake.

Room Tip: The top floor has better views because of the elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Annie, Thanks very much for posting your review, its always appreciated to receive our guests feedback and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our lovely town. Thanks again and regards, The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

First moment we entered the room, we fell in love. Amazing lake view, clean room with adequate faclilities to cook you own dinner (or breakfast!), quite, and yet close (walking distance) to everything that's important and interesting around the lake. Warm welcome, great hospitality and kind team. Next time i am in Wanaka, I will not think twice :-)

Room Tip: we stayed both in top and bottom floors, both were great. if you dont like stairs, choose the bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hadar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thanks very much for your review and it was great that you came back to stay with us again on your trip! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Thanks again, The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Arrived at the moorings before going on a mountaineering trip. The staff were great, very helpful.
The location is fantastic, looking over Lake Wanaka to the mountains, a couple of minutes walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crossfitjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest, thanks very much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our views! We do appreciate you taking time to post your review, thanks again and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very good motel in an excellent location close to the town centre and with great views over the lake and mountains. Room was a good size, clean, well equipped and with a balcony. Friendly welcome. Could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms probably have a better view and are further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind comments, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and our lovely town. We look forward to hosting you again some time. Thank you and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing