We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Moorings
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
312
140
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
140
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationview of the lakea couple of minutes walksmall kitchenettestudio unitafternoon sunclose to townrestaurants and shopswithin easy walking distancefirst floorthe ground floorenjoy the viewsouth islandawesome viewstwo night staygreat roomsurrounding mountains
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The location of this motel cannot be better. Beautiful lake views and easy walking distance to all Wanaka's restaurants. The couple running the place provide a really good service with a friendly touch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrottersSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello Globetrotters, Thank you for your kind review. We really enjoy hosting our guests and sharing our town and region. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip
Regards
The Moorings Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Ok not the cheapest but well worth every penny. Very nicely equipped, spotlessly clean and the views from the shaded patio across the lake and to the mountains were just divine.

There is a road outside but traffic is slow moving and not too noisy and we had a very comfortable night's sleep.

The owners/managers were friendly and helpful and our only disappointment was that we had not booked to stay here longer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello Phil,Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have passed on your comments to our cleaning staff who put a lot of effort in to present the rooms. There are so many things to do and see in Wanaka that many guests wished they had stayed longer. I hope the rest of your trip went well.

Regards
The Moorings Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely motel at lakeside, clean, spacious and nicely decorated room, two very comfy double beds, tidy kitchenette, with a balcony overlooking the lake - would have been great for a sundowner drink only it rained when we arrived - but the view in the morning! Glorious! Owners were very helpful with advice and suggestions for dinner and walks, we only wished we could have stayed longer! Next time!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Alex, Thanks very much for your review and it was very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us even though it rained! The lake can still look quite spectacular even when it is raining but we're very pleased you were able to enjoy the fantastic views in the morning. Thank you again and we look forward to perhaps hosting you for a longer stay next time! Kind regards The Moorings Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Amazing place and what a view. We stayed in Room 14 and when you looked through the glass doors to the balcony the view of the lake (which was maybe 50 metres away) and the mountains was breathtaking. The location is arguably the best in Wanaka and Nick & Karlene (joint owners with Ian and Bev) who were there for our 2 night stay were extremely friendly and helpful. Thank you. You have unwittingly given me a problem as my wife now would love to sell up in the UK and move to Wanaka. Such a lovely place.

Room Tip: We had first floor with excellent views, but I think all rooms probably have good views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swimwith3dolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Guests, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and its always great to receive such an awesome review, thank you! If you aren't able to come and live you can always return for another holiday to enjoy our fabulous views again! Thanks very much and warm regards, The Moorings Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We called in here on spec without a booking and were lucky enough to get a king studio on the first floor, clean modern room very well equipped with kitchenette area. The view of the lake was amazing. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. 2 mins walk to lake and shops,restaurants ect
Don't hesitate

Stayed: January 2014
Thank pazzNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking time to post your review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our stunning views! We hope the rest of your trip went well. Thanks again! The Moorings Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews