We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i am glad i chose The Moorings”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“i am glad i chose The Moorings”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely room overlooking the lake with beautiful views. Stayed in a ground floor end room .When we enterd with the curtains open we were both impressed with the view and the location. Everything we needed was there, helped by nice friendly staff. We will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: end rooms facing lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly_p62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guests, Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves and our lovely view! Many thanks for taking time to post your comments. Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    125
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
270
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Well equipped and comfortable motel room, a few minutes walk from the CBD of Wanaka. Lovely lakeside sunset views and close to walking trails around the lake. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff who booked us a helicopter ride at very short notice and who kept the reception open late especially for us (thank you!). Wifi worked well, limited to 200MB. Would definitely recommend as somewhere to stay in Wanaka - shame we were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guests,Thanks very much for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us! Just to advise our wifi is not limited to 200mb and we are sorry that you did not request more. That aside, thank you very much for your comments and its always great to hear that guests enjoyed their stay and our lovely town. We look forward to hosting you again sometime! Kind regards The Moorings Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice place to stay with stunning views of the lake. The rooms at the Moorings are very clean & comfortable. Staff were very friendly, with recommendations on what do in Wanaka. Great location within an easy walking distance to shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests, thanks very much for your review! Its great to hear you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed our wonderful views over the lake. Your comments are appreciated, thanks again. Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Moorings was an exceptional find with a view of the lake. Nice, clean and very comfortable rooms for our entire group. The room had every amenity that was needed, even a coffee press. Staff was very accomodating even when the wifi was uncooperative. You will be pleased with The Mooring for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBR_PSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests, Thanks very much for kind review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Its very pleasing to hear you also enjoyed our views and lovely town. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip too! Thanks and regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at The Moorings for a second time in March 2014 and will certainly stay there again if we re-visit Wanaka. The accommodation is comfortable, the management friendly and helpful, the view of the lake is lovely and it is ideally situated for walking into the centre as well as for restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Jean, thanks so much for returning to us, it was a pleasure to see you again! Thanks also for taking time to post your review, it was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again! Best Wishes The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a find! Recommended by our friends who have relatives in Wanaka, this has to be the best place to stay in the area. The room was spacious, clean and tidy with the most breath taking views of the lake. The managers were extremely helpful and friendly and it would certainly be the first place I would return to if we ever (and I hope we do) return to South Island.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room overlooking the lake. It is a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARVOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks to your friends for their recommendation! Word of mouth is great isn't it! Thanks very much for taking time to let us know and hopefully we will see you again at a later stage! Kind regards The Moorings Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked here purely because Karlene was so accommodating & helpful when I called. She welcomed us when we arrived and the Units were better than we expected.
Beautifully maintained, very clean & well positioned above the Lake. Handy to shops & Cafes.
Karlene & Nick were the perfect hosts & we look forward to visiting them again.

Room Tip: All of the Lakeview Rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMooringsWanaka, Manager at The Moorings, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests, thanks so much for your kind words! We are glad that we were able to make your stay in our lovely town very enjoyable. It is always a pleasure hosting our guests and we do look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards Karlene and Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Property: The Moorings
Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing