We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durry Hills - great value at a great location”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2009

If you are looking for a more economical option than The Moorings, then they have the answer right next door.

We stayed at the Durry Hills villas, beside The Moorings, which are offered at a more competitive price. The location is just as sensational and the accommodation is great but at a greatly reduced rate. Our accommodation was 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, so ideal for families or couples travelling together. It is at the "value" end of accommodation; it is clean, has everything you could possible want and is really well located and appointed.

There is SKY TV (with the movie channel) but no DVD or games, shower in the ensuite and other add ons and atmosphere you may expect to find at more expensive accommodation. If you are okay with this, then I would definitely recommend Durry Hills as a place to hunker down in Wanaka. Bookings are made through The Moorings (which is right next door). It's an easy 2 minute stroll into the shops and is nice and quiet.

The staff at The Moorings are exceptional. We left early on account of the weather and they were entirely understanding. As well as this, we were inadvertantly overcharged for our stay and they very quickly redressed the issue. Nothing is too much of a problem for them so as well as staying somewhere very reasonably priced you are also getting the service of a top notch establishment.

Stay here if you are looking for something reasonably priced, comfortable and well located and set out without the additional extras you may expect in a quality more expensive luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarflungEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

View was amazing, walk out onto a view of the beautiful moutains and lake. Service was great and staff were lovely and very helpful. Room was modern and very clean. 3 minute walk to centre of Wanaka. Did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auscp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Clean and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The view was stunning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsmeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

What a wonderful place this is! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location and views. Room was excellent and electric blanket was a nice touch. Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Probably wouldn’t have found this if it hadn’t been for Trip Advisor. Great views from our balcony. Lovely, well furnished room and very helpful and friendly owners. Wanaka is such a beautiful place and The Moorings is located just a short walk from great restaurants and the town centre itself. We were disappointed that we had booked for only 1 night – would have loved to have stayed longer. Definitely be back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

On 2/5/09 we arrived at THE MOORINGS as a result of good fortune after escaping from a disastrous booking at HAAST. Jude and Gary Christie (hosts) were an excellent antidote to the awful HAAST experience. The upstairs room we had was superb. If only we had arrived a little earlier to make the most of the wonderful lake view from our balcony before darkness took over. Lea and I can't speak too highly of everything to do with this place. Had we not pre booked for our next destination we would have definitely stayed a second night. Thank God that accommodation like this exists. Thanks again Jude and Gary for for giving us a lifeboat.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Another excellent find, thanks to tripadvisor.com. We stayed for three nights at the end of a South Island tour, and The Moorings remains a memorable location. It's possible to spend hours gazing at the spectacle of Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountain range (and we did). Being late Autumn, it was a treat to see the snowline had crept a little further down the mountainside each morning. The room was very clean and spacious, with a functional kitchenette and underfloor heating in the bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff, a coin-op laundry onsite and a short walk in to Wanaka.

For a relatively small town, Wanaka has much to offer. Recommendations include the eccentric Cinema Paradiso, Puzzling World and the Transport & Toy Museum.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#13 of 20 in Wanaka
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £102 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Moorings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing