We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view over Lake Wanaka”
Review of The Moorings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moorings
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2009

These smallish studios are smarlty, if rather minimally, furnished - much like a 3-star hotel (eg Holiday Inn Express) but with a microwave & hob. Although fully eqipped for cooking, including a frying pan, there is no extractor fan or any other ventilation!
The balcony had a lovely view over the lake & catches the afternoon/evening sun.
I thought the room a little pricy, but Wanaka is a resort town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2009

We stayed on the second floor, another awesome view we had :)
lake wanaka,black's peak is just outside of our balcony, and onto our right we could see snow-capped mountains (not sure of the name). Kitchenette inside,and new world supermarket is a short drive from the moorings. Overall conclusion, one night stay is not enough!LOL.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingkueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We recently spent three nights in Wanaka at the Moorings. I would recommend a room on the upper level as you will have a better view and be further away from any noise. The view out over the lake is beautiful. Good cooking facilities and a central location to town was also nice. Wanaka is a very nice town and a breath of fresh air after Queenstown. You could pay more for boutique lodges, but the Moorings was great. Laundry facilities are a plus.

Lastly, Gary, Jude, and their dog Mika were wonderful and made our stay a pleasure. We felt like Gary took a personal interest in helping us on our stay. Gary won our best host award on our vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Great, very clean rooms, with the best views over the awesome lake in Wanaka and out to the snowcapped mountains . Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Overall the nicest room and views we have ever stayed in.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank TiggyDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Somebody had been cooking indian, so the room absolutely stunk of indian food. The bed was uncomfortable (we found some blood on the sheet). The room was a big dingy. Standard bathroom. Managers were friendly and helpful. Great views. Please note that the score is in comparison to 14 other hotels/B&Bs we stayed in during a 3 week trip to NZ

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Fantastic motel in a fantastic location!

We took the cheapest room, which was perfect for us: roomy (certainly not small as Tripadvisors had led me to expect!), comfortable bed, great TV, cooking facilities, uber clean, patio with chairs and a view of the lake and mountains to boot. What’s not to like? Super friendly hosts, with lots of tips for our onward trip. 2 minute walk to the cafes and restaurants and main shopping area. Really, I can’t fault this place. Highly recommended to one and all for a super stay in Wanaka.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was modern, clean, warm and had lovely lake glimpses. The sheets were strangely noisy (a weird complaint, I know) but the beds were comfortable and the apartment generally well appointed. The bathrooms were very clean. I would award bonus points if they were to install a drying machine alongside the washer in the garage, but was happy without doing laundry. A great spot.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripVisorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
851 reviews
0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
533 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings

Address: 17 Lakeside Road | PO Box 368, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £90 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Moorings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings Motel and Apartments offers stylish accommodation for the discerning traveller. We offer lakefront studio units with outstanding un-interrupted views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains and our family apartments are ideal for larger groups. Our complex is just one minutes walk to the nearest cafes and shops and the lakes edge or just a two minute stroll to town. Complimentary wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Moorings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings Hotel Wanaka
Moorings Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing