We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can we Go Back? Yes please”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Ranked #15 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I can only repeat all the good things that other reviewers have said. We were looking forward to 2 nights at Wanaka Springs as most of our stays in South Island had been only one night. So glad we chose this place. The owners (John and Glynis?) were really welcoming and genuinely concerned that we had all we needed. The highlight was the pre-dinner drink(s) we shared with other guests. Such lovely touches that made it special. Oh yes, the room was lovely and I saw my first kiwi (a lovely cuddly one on the bed). Super views over the garden. The breakfast was definitely worth getting up for - on Valentines day we were offered Bucks Fizz. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wannabe there still! Loved our three nights at this boutique 8 bed lodge. We were looked after very well by our hosts from the minute we arrived until 'after' we left. The owner even delivered our luggage to the town for us for our transfer to Queenstown later that afternoon. Especially enjoyed the home cooked- to-order breakfasts and al fresco evening drinks/nibbles served on the patio. A nice opportunity to chat to our hosts and other travellers. Our room overlooked the garden and spring, had its own patio furniture and was a short hop to the jacuzzi. Particularly liked the nice open tiled shower and pump bottled toiletries. Good blackout curtains and a wonderful mountain view to wake up to. We had free run of the kitchen to make ourselves tea and coffee which was useful. Conveniently located for the town.

Room Tip: Fog Peak has direct access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Throughout my lone travels North and South, staying in hotels and b&b s there is no doubt that b&b s come out on top.
I have yet to stay in a bad one and Wanaka Springs Lodge is no exception.
John and Glynis are fantastic hosts providing excellent service and breakfast.
Our evening get together was like a party, great company and lots of experiences to share of NZ.
Ok so my room was not quiet as luxurious and large as some but more than adequate.
Wanaka is a great little town staying here will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon trip to New Zealand. The owners, John and Glynis, have only recently taken over but are doing an excellent job. They had lots of recommendations for restaurants (we tried two and loved them both!) and local trips, and made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Inviting all the guests to pre-dinner drinks and (delicious homemade) nibbles out in the garden each evening was a very nice touch. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with a big bathroom. The location is excellent - just a short walk to the town centre and the lake front. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend Wanaka Springs to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night in January but arrived before our room was ready (they were having a 100% turnover the day we arrived). John allowed me to use his own bathroom to freshen up and change in which was an indication of how friendly and helpful he and Glynis are. The room was spacious and very well appointed, with a lovely bathroom and nice view of the gardens. The evening happy hour with the other guests was a real treat, nice wine and nibbles and a very friendly atmosphere. We were leaving early the following morning,but they were happy to have breakfast set out for us to grab something before we headed out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Searched for superior accommodation for myself & elderly parents for three nights last week, back in November. Came across Wanaka Springs Lodge and their apartment offering and booked well in advance (and paid deposit).

On arrival (2.30pm), there was no one at home to greet us and as instructed I phoned the number posted on the door but did not receive any reply. Two hours later we returned to the lodge for checkin and were greeted by John who directed us to an apartment block next door. He briefly explained the facilities and said to contact him whenever if we needed anything.

The apartment was great, just what we needed and very well equipped apart from one essential item. However we did feel that we had been slightly mislead by the advertising in that we were totally isolated from the main lodge (apart from an offer of the use of the hot tub which was stated in the apartment's compendium). It would have been nice to talk to the other guests and share travel stories.

By the second morning we were running out of the essential item and one of the group went over to the lodge to ask for some additional toilet paper (there was only one half used on the holder when we arrived and no spare). We were informed that we needed to go to the supermarket to buy some more but when we pointed out that we were staying for three nights and we were a party of three, a couple of spare rolls were reluctantly handed over. Hard to think that this basic essential should be so over looked when the rest of the apartment was well stocked (oven roast bags, tinfoil, glad wrap, kitchen roll etc).

It would have been great to give feedback to John on our departure, but after having rang the bell twice no one appeared so we just had to leave the key on the counter.

So I can't comment about the wine or the nibbles the lodge guests were clearly enjoying each night on the terrace (in full view of our balcony), or the home baking, or the standard of the lodge rooms. But I can say that the apartment 210 was modern, well equipped and adequate for our needs. However if your reason for stay is for the apartment accommodation, you may be better off approaching the Best Western Belvedere directly for a better deal.

We would certainly stay here again, but will speak direct to Belvedere..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClareJay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in November 2013. The room was fine overlooking the lovely gardens. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests for wine and nibbles and as it was a lovely evening this took place outside. The lodge is well located and just a short walk into town. Would recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
376 reviews
2.6 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#11 of 53 in Wanaka
177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Springs Lodge

Address: 21 Warren Street | PO Box 25, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £110 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wanaka Springs Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Wanaka Springs Lodge for a real taste of New Zealand! Wanaka Springs Lodge celebrates New Zealand's culture and its quirks with its decor and food. This accommodation combines the luxurious comfort and attentive service of a boutique hotel, with relaxed Kiwi charm and located just a 3 minute walk from Wanaka's town centre. Enjoy the warmest welcome, luxury bed and breakfast accommodation and your separate guest facilities at this purpose built boutique hotel. Discover the cosy lounge (with a real fire!), tea & coffee making facilities in your room and large deck areas with outdoor furniture - to enjoy the mountain views and the natural springs which help form our beautiful and tranquil garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wanaka Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing