We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wanaka Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wanaka Haven
Ranked #5 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in Wanaka”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Wanaka Haven is a beautiful, stylish and very comfortable lodge set in a stunning private location with amazing views. Our room, in fact the whole place, was immaculate and kept that way for all 13 nights we stayed. A beautifully presented & delicious breakfast was served each morning before we set off skiing and at the end of the day we returned to a welcoming log fire and the offer of drinks & nibbles. Steven and Anne-Mie are excellent hosts who offer first class yet unobtrusive service. We had a wonderful stay and highly recommend Wanaka Haven. We plan to return next ski season.

Elaine & Sarah

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
84
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a truly "must do" B&B should you ever go to Wanaka. The place is simply faultless. We loved everything about it. We slept in the best bed ever, and as there was a total privacy - watching the millions of stars and waking up to picture perfect snowy mountains. There is a genuine care that goes above and beyond of what a guest would expect, and we felt very pampered indeed. The hosts, Steve and Anne-Mie obviously know how to make a guest feel at home, without intruding on privacy. This gem needs seeing to believe.
Freddy & Lisette, from Auckland

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisettelovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Wanaka Haven was our third stop on the South Island and the eighth of our trip around New Zealand. Once again, we were not disappointed with our choice of accommodation. The house is set in a stunning location with the most wonderful views. Steven and Anne-Mei were really lovely people as well as being great hosts. They were also very knowledgable of things to see and do. The breakfasts and the food and drink In the evenings were also great. Our room was absolutely beautiful, as was the rest of the house. We had the most wonderful time and cannot recommend Wanaka Haven highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2013

From the moment we walked in the door, we felt 'at home'. The character of the house, the rooms, the views, it all was better then expected. Our hosts served delicious breakfasts, and spoilt us with great baking to have with our afternoon tea ( even the teas are a real treat! ). The rooms are very luxurious and have beautiful ensuites with quality toiletries. My husband and I booked for 2 nights, but were so impressed that we decided to stay 2 nights more. It is a shame we can only rate 5 star, because this is definitely worth more. Thanks again Steven & Anne-Mie for making our stay perfect. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWB149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our family of four (2 teens) stayed here for 2 nights in November. The lodge is situated away from town with nothing around it. It has lovely views of the mountain but you cannot see the lake. We found the rooms very well appointed, clean, modern and to our taste. We had two rooms with a connecting corridor, which was nice, but these rooms don't have the nicest view.
We had ordered a bottle of champagne and as the weather was nice, we had drinks outside. Anna-mie and Steven provided some nice cheese and snacks and we enjoyed a couple of hours just relaxing.
There is a large dining table where a very nice breakfast is served. Anna-mie offered to cook hot breakfast for us. There are also cookies and coffee available most of the day. There is an honour bar stocked with soft drinks, wine and beer.
Wifi was available throughout although we had some problems the first day. It was later sorted.
Overall a nice place to relax. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably one of the higher category rooms facing the front which have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Wow Wow Wow. If you love peace and quiet and restaurant quality food and want to be pampered at a reasonable price then stay here....Steve & Anne-Mie have created a stunning getaway here in Wanaka. My husband and I have spent 4 nights here and have loved our stay.The views from Wanaka Haven are incredible. We have been waking up to views over snow capped mountains from our bedroom! Not only could the views not get any better the rooms are incredibly luxurious(fantastic fluffy robes and gorgeous high quality toiletries) it really is like staying at a 5 star hotel - only better because we have been truly spoilt by our hosts. Each night Anne-Mie brings us a beautiful glass of NZ wine and some of her incredible cooking. Yesterday she served us some white bait, the night before smoked salmon as we sat on our own patio overlooking the mountains! It's so quiet and peaceful and yet you are so close to Wanaka town. Now breakfasts are a highlight too - these two could easily open a successful restaurant with the tastiest breakfasts made to order! YUMMY!! (poached runny eggs and some of the yummiest bacon ive tasted). I cannot recommend it highly enough in every way it is the perfect NZ holiday. I know this place will zoom up the ratings as more people come to stay- it has only recently opened. I will definatley be back!

Room Tip: all rooms have mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleur z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The name "Wanaka Haven" says it all in many ways. My wife and I decided to book 4 nights as part of our honeymoon travelling the south island and were not disappointed. We were pleasantly welcomed by Steven and were instantly taken back by the beautiful views of the mountains from the dining area and our spacious room. No expense was spared from the perfectly designed lounge and dining area with fire place to the huge king size bed and luxurious fittings including our favourite, the heated towel racks and heated thermal floors. The lodge was only a few minutes drive out of town and was perfectly positioned with absolute peace and quiet all day. Both Steven and Anne-Mie were perfect hosts who were always willing to help or offer any assistance with our travel plans or advice on somewhere to eat. The continental and cooked breakfast in the morning was also a highlight with nothing ever too much trouble. We plan to return to New Zealand for an anniversary trip and would love to stay at Wanaka Haven again. Thanks to Steven and Anne-Mie for making our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get the corner room facing the mountains which caught the morning sun and helped ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
4.0 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
745 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
488 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Haven

Property: Wanaka Haven
Address: 42 Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanaka Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanaka Haven offers the luxury of beautiful surroundings inside out with a chic decor and uninterrupted mountain views. Warm up to the cozy roaring fire in winter; dine outdoors in the summer, a glass of Pinot Noir from our collection in hand. Expect a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, gourmet breakfasts and five-star service. Wanaka Haven means comfort with top of the range bedding and under floor heating throughout. Your holiday can be as indulgent or active as you like, with plenty of space to lounge around and the beauty of Wanaka to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing