We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and fresh!!!”
Review of Francesca's Pizzas

Francesca's Pizzas
Ranked #35 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a mobile woodfired pizza business based on Brownston Street Wanaka ( next to base backpackers and New world).We serve authentic Italian syle pizzas cooked in our tradiotional woodfired oven. We work with local suppliers to bring you fresh and tasty pizzas served at very reasonalble prices. We open Thursday - Sunday 4pm onwards and from July 9th we are opening 7 days a week 12pm - 9pm
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummy and fresh!!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Had a large venison salami pizza. This was my first time to try venison salami and it tasted goooooood!!! $10 for a small pizza and $20 for a large. If u r a big eater, order the large. Its not really that big. Good option for budget traveller!

Helpful?
Thank beeleeburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    13
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little pizza place”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Cool, unique pizzas, such a cool set up. We had 1 pizza per 2 people and were satisfied with the portions. Could do 1:1 if really hungry!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tallyj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just to clear up any confusion, I am writing about Francesca's Pizza, which is a food truck or pizza wagon in a lot next to the Base X hostel. Francesca, I think, also has a fancy restaurant, and one of the photos here is of the restaurant, not the pizza wagon.
I'm a late comer to the food truck craze, and I've heard that pizza trucks are quite common. But I had never seen one and I'm a sucker for wood-fired ovens.
The pizzas are reasonably priced and imaginative combinations. I had rocket, chorizo and goat cheese (plus the basic tomato sauce and mozzarella). There are half a dozen or so choices available and two sizes. They assemble the pizza right there in front of you and you can watch it bake in the wood oven.
Most of the business in winter is takeaway, but there are outside tables if it's warm enough.
This is really delicious pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank N_skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza's - great service”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Tried out a few pizza's from Francesca's over our recent visit to Wanaka - service was always quick and friendly, the pizza's were great and filled the gap after a hard day's skiing.

The 'garlic bread' was slightly unusual compared to what I would normally expect....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZL_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pepperoni delicious!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Great pizza base. As everything is a 2 min drive to town, ordered to collect and pizza was still hot to eat.
Good option after being at TC and not wanting to cook or sit in a restaurant.
The boys do well to whip these up in their pizza van.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AOD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francesca's Pizzas also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Pizzas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing