We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to unwind after a dyas skiing !!”
Review of Cardrona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cardrona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best way to unwind after a dyas skiing !!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This old pub is a MUST a great place to have a couple of handle's (glass) of beer after a hard days skiing full of character and friendly service great fire place's to have a meal around
LOVE IT!!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    76
    23
    12
    0
See reviews for
67
130
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The fire is always burning and as an resident they make sure you have a table in the very popular resturant when you want.

Very honest hearty fare.

We stayed in a family room which was compact but clean and modern enought.

The best place to crash after skiing Cardrona.

We will be back, next week in fact heres hoping for snow!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_R_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

A spontaneous lunch and beer stop while on our way to Wanaka during our Holidays. Amazing home brewed ale and a variety of cheese n meat .... What more can you ask for. U shud read the Frequently asked Questions on the board. This place is a 100 years old, has a fantastic kitchen and to top it all excellent rooms to stay. The best part also was the dogs and he cat which gives a very family oriented atmosphere.

Room Tip: Best pit stop to and from Wanaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy_m1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

An Amazing wee local hotel in the middle of some amazing countryside.... The staff where amazing and helpful... the food was great.... and beer flowed....
The Backyard beer garden is totally relaxing.... loved the vintage cars.
The room where clean and a great size....
Thank you for a wonderful holiday.... its a small hotel well worth the stop.... and a beer or two.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otagopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Cardrona is small but it is well worth the stay! We were there in the summer, so there weren't many other guests. We stayed there while passing through from Queenstown to Mt. Cook. The atmosphere is perfect - beautiful grounds, rustic interior, and gorgeous bedrooms. It was like being on a retreat. The food was hearty, and the staff were nice. They make a really good mulled wine in the winter. It is usually not available in the summer, but they had some made up and allowed us to try it. The character is what makes this place, though - just go to their website and check out photos to see what we mean.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doubletkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new plymouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Stayed here for one night on our way to Burt Munro...lovely room opening out to courtyard and gardens...great dinner menu food too and a continental breakfast is included including gorgeous croissaints in the rate of $135 a night..unfortunately though the spa had not been heated up in time for our stay which was disappointing and is noisy with the music still playing outside until middnight...so ok if you dont go too bed until then ! Parking is offstreet on stones.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed mid-winter for three nights as a base for skiing nearby Cardrona, and we were very very happy. There is no hustle and bustle, no shops, just a comfortable bar and a great chef. Though not as cheap as accommodation in town, we found it worth every cent. Remember it is a pub, not a modern hotel, and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedda_and_Flatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
13.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
13.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardrona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardrona Hotel

Property: Cardrona Hotel
Address: Crown Range Road, RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardrona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Crown Range Road between Wanaka and Queenstown, the Cardrona Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the stunning Central Otago region. Twenty minutes from Wanaka, 40 minutes from Queenstown and 30 minutes from Arrowtown, the hotel is close to many major tourist attractions in the region. It's also close to four major ski areas, including Cardrona Alpine Resort. All ensuite rooms are all equipped with Sky TV, WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. A continental buffet breakfast served in the historic dining room is also included in the room rate. Make use of the cosy guest lounge, beautiful cottage gardens, laundry facilities and spa pool. Rooms are a mix of queen beds, twin queen beds, twin singles and family rooms with one queen bed and two singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Cardrona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardrona Hotel South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing