We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Cardrona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cardrona Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Best place to stay”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very reasonably priced. The staff were great, the food was mouthwatering and huge portions and the ales were awesome. Just thinking about it makes me want another beer. I would recommend spending some time by the fireplace in the restaurant and a great photo opportunity by the old car outside. We could not have asked for better. We will definitely return to stay again at this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sp-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    81
    23
    12
    0
See reviews for
73
138
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is the coolest hotel I've seen in a long time. It has been used in NZ beer commercials. You can hear the tires screeching when people pass it, then they back up and come inside for a look, sometimes they spend the night just on a whim.
We had reservations, the rooms were beautiful, big beds, tvs, great bathroom. We happened to be there on Valentine's Day so we opted for the 3 course Valentine's Special. It was fantastic.
The food, drinks and dessert were fabulous.
the bar area is wonderful. they have a limited food menu in the bar but plenty of great NZ wines and beers.
Highly recommend but you MUST MAKE RESERVATIONS. This property is highly sought after and well worth it if you can get a room. One night would be plenty as it sits between Queenstown and Wanaka, not far from either but a tricky commute at night.
Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Driving towards Wanaka we saw this old hotel on the left at the bottom of the range. What a complete surprise when we walked in to the 1800s. A wonderful place full of character. Much to spend time looking at. Lunch was served stylishly, coffee warmed us quickly - fire going fast and furious. Do visit, look at the money on the ceiling, walk the back yard. While we didn't stay the night as we had other bookings in Wanaka we spent a good two hours here relaxing and literally drooling.

Room Tip: Ring to book I would suggest. Good for ski-ing season or just as a drop in for a meal enroute somew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were on our way to Wanaka and came across this little gem , don't be fooled folks . What a find . We stopped for a coffee ended up having breakfast , best poached eggs I have ever tasted . Hubby's full breakfast went down a treat . Friendly and attentive staff , and the place !!!! I love it . Would love to have a local pub /restaurant like this , great place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aristo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Driving along the Crown Ridge Pass between Wanaka and Queenstown brought back many memories of hard ski trips to NZ and hard partying, which often started over a gluwein or two at the famed Cardrona Hotel.
The Hotel is still there 20 years later, looking the same outside but a bit tarted up inside and in the beer garden with ensuite accommodation.
The old fire place was alight and radiating warmth over a late stop after lunch. The leather Chesterfield style couches looked a little newish. The ceilings in the main bar still had a world of spare cash donated by customers from afar.
A small cleansing local ale was sampled to remind me of crazier times.
The Hotel still looks good and a lazy lunch in the beer garden would have been nice, with locals describing the food as solid and OK for pub grub.
Still, memories do funny things to you and its best times are clearly min-winter, snow everywhere and tall tales told around the fire!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Just popped in for a drink and to say we'd been there and were very surprised by the fantastic garden out back. Had a couple of drinks in the sun on the way from QT to Wanaka. Eyed up some others' food and it looked great. A cool photo opportunity, of one of NZ's first pubs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank adamson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Great place for a meal but don't stay here if you need rest. Most of the rooms surround a court yard (which is lovely day and night) but the staff are too weak to ask patrons to pack it in at a reasonable hour. It sounded as if they were partying in my room. I had to go outside close to 2am and ask the guests (nicely) to call it a night. Not my job and the staff at the hotel told me there was nothing they could do - yeah right.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CardronaHotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi there,

Please accept our apologies for the negative experience you had at our hotel last week. The particular night in question several of our other house guests decided to drink and talk around the outdoor fire into the small hours, keeping other guests awake. This is not a regular occurrence and in hindsight our night staff were unequipped to deal with the situation effectively. We've addressed this with them to ensure it doesn't happen again. Our apologies again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
13.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.8 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
351 reviews
13.7 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardrona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardrona Hotel

Property: Cardrona Hotel
Address: Crown Range Road, RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardrona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Crown Range Road between Wanaka and Queenstown, the Cardrona Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the stunning Central Otago region. Twenty minutes from Wanaka, 40 minutes from Queenstown and 30 minutes from Arrowtown, the hotel is close to many major tourist attractions in the region. It's also close to four major ski areas, including Cardrona Alpine Resort. All ensuite rooms are all equipped with Sky TV, WiFi and tea and coffee making facilities. A continental buffet breakfast served in the historic dining room is also included in the room rate. Make use of the cosy guest lounge, beautiful cottage gardens, laundry facilities and spa pool. Rooms are a mix of queen beds, twin queen beds, twin singles and family rooms with one queen bed and two singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Cardrona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardrona Hotel South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing