We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like Gold Class”
Review of Ruby's Cinema

Ruby's Cinema
Ranked #4 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just like Gold Class”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very nice small cinema with big comfy chairs and pre-allotted seating. Bar and food available there and you could take it in with you to watch the movie. Staff lovely. Slightly out of the township but still very close to town - walking distance and there is a Lone Star restaurant on site as well. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    25
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a fun little theatre”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Ok when we first arrived I wondered whether we had stepped into a dodgy swingers lounge .. But what a cool theatre. Good selection of drinks and food, comfy seating and fun night out. Will definitely want to go again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Wanaka”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A wonderful, classy theater more suited for a date or solo night than for families. Ridiculously comfortable seating...the chairs were basically fancy lazy boys with blankets provided.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an occassion”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Rubies makes going to the movies an occasion. Friendly staff wait on you and the atmosphere is plush. The cinema sound is excellent and the option of a meal before or after at Lone Star is great. Especially when they do the discount. Makes a nice gift idea.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My first impression of this cinema was not very good. My husband and I showed up about 10 minutes prior to the movie showing and were told that the previous movie was still going and it would be about another 15 min wait from when ours was supposed to begin. After waiting over an hour, we were finally let into the theater. We paid for the luxury seats but were disappointed that you had such a large barrier between each one that we couldn't get close enough to each other to cuddle. Holding hands was even a struggle. Besides those hiccups, it was fairly nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim and Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby's Cinema also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Ruby's Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing