We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Cinema” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Cinema

Ruby's Cinema
Ranked #4 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Excellent two screen boutique cinema with excellent picture quality and sound.

The staff were very helpful, welcoming and the whole enterprise had a great feel.

The very comfortable seating was good in the main cinema and the intermission allowed time to grab some food, drinks and attend to natures call without disturbing others.

There is a smaller "Den" second screen, if you really want to chill out.

Highly recommended

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julesski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    25
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I want this ALL the time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

this is luxury fromthe moment you walk in.
Great pre-movie bar area. Great wine and cocktail list...try the expresso martini.
The cinema is extremley comfortable and quality sound/sight.
& they have an intermission - so cool - an opportunity to get a fresh martini.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GooseGirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The ski resorts were all closed on one of our days at Wanaka so we went to the movies. Watched The Jersey Boys. It was sensational. Went a bit wild and had wine and champagne and nibbles. Movie was great as were the staff and ambience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brissie-based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Get a 'Lazi Boy'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times and we keep coming back!!! Last time we paid an extra $4 for lazi boy recliners - so much fun! I wouldn't normally pick the front row but this was great. 1 of my fave things is that they will bring you food and drunk during the screening, but very quietly. And there's and interval incase you need to step out! Love it

Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nice to be called for your movie, good selection of wines, coffee etc. On a cold, damp, grey day this was a warm comfortable place to relax and laugh. The movie was Chef - well worth watching.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby's Cinema also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Ruby's Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing