We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“NOT A GOOD CHOICE FOR US” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Te Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #16 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“NOT A GOOD CHOICE FOR US”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

We booked Te Wanaka Lodge because of good Tripadvisor reviews. We expected there to be a good atmosphere but the place seemed soulless. We never got into conversation with anyone other than the staff. It may be that in the Ski season the place comes alive but for us it just didn't.
The room was OK but nothing special. The balcony was very small but you could just see the mountain above the adjoining rooftops.
Overall a little disappointing. We stayed in much nicer places during our 14 night trip to the South Island

  • Liked — NOT A LOT
  • Disliked — Paying for WiFi
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fulstoneflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    77
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
154
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

Te Wanaka is a fantastic place to stay. The owners are very friendly and ever so helpful, if you need any advice on the area they are very knowledgable and glad to offer advice.

The honesty bar is great - if you're honest! Comfortable surroundings, good coffee, and a few minutes walk into town. Parking outside for a few cars if you're driving. I didn't try the outdoor hot tub, perhaps next time.

Unfortunately, due to Wanaka's nightlife and the friendly locals, I never made it up in time for breakfast, but I'm told by the friends I was with it was excellent. I'm going back in January 2009 for a bit longer so will attempt to get out of bed then.

Service is so good that when booking my room two years after my first time I was remembered by the owners. Can't beat that!

  • Liked — Clean, modern, excellent service
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottonfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

Having searched the web for places to stay in Wanaka we came across Te Wanaka Lodge. It looked lovely and following email correspondance with hosts we decided to book.

Wanaka is a lovely, lovely town on the edges of the breathtaking Lake Wanaka. Te Wanaka Lodge is close by and a really nice place to stay and you feel that the hosts genuinely want you to have a great time.

A lot of thought has clearly gone into this place to make it relaxing, from the comfy leather sofa to the wonderful wines on sale. Truly excellant wines available by the glass.

Breakfast was great too and served by the charming Lynn.

We also booked a Mou Waho nature walk tour with Eco Wanaka Adventures through the hosts. Strongly recommended.

Sadly we only had one night here but I would highly recommend. The lodge is also close to good places to eat and the iconic cinema. The latter is definitely worth a visit for it's quirkiness and amazing homemade ice-cream.

  • Liked — It was so relaxing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

I would say that visiting the town of Wanaka is a must if you're going to New Zealand and the Te Wanaka Lodge is a great place to stay. This Bed and Breakfast is run by Graham and his wife. The rooms are small but very nice and clean. The breakfast was excellent. The host was extremely helpful.

I would go back and stay there.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fardated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

This was neither the biggest room, nor the cheapest, but the place had a lovely atmosphere in which it was easy to relax thanks in great deal to the owners Graham and his wife Andy. They are able, and very willing, to give advice on what to do and where to go based on personal experience, not just brochures. They are clearly very fit, so you may want to aim off a bit on how easy they say walks are.
There is lots of public space in the main building – two lounges and the breakfast area - and a very nice partly shaded small garden with a table and chairs where one can read or take advantage of the honesty bar (restaurant prices). Breakfast is included, which is genuinely personally cooked.
There is internet available at $5 per hour, or part of an hour, and clothes washing facilities at an extortionate $10 for either washing or drying.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

Nice, airy room in central Wanaka. Its a a rather large BnB/lodge meaning less interaction with others. Very good experience, we can recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders_Sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

Loved this small hotel. The on site manager Lynn could not have been more helpful and cheerful. She served New Zealand sparkling wine and appetizers on New Years Eve and helped us with all of our activity planning and dinner reservations.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — small rooms with lack of drawer space
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoHorseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Property: Te Wanaka Lodge
Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing