We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Wanaka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Wanaka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Wanaka Lodge
Ranked #16 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wanaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

It seems not to be everyone's cup of tea... but we loved Wanaka. A quiet lakeside hub, offering wonderful access to the glorious Mount Aspiring National Park, we enjoyed every moment of our summer stay here. The Lodge is a lovely, laid back, place only a few minutes walk from the Lake. Everything has been well thought-through, the rooms, although a little compact, are neatly organised, will plenty of light, flat screen tvs, spotless bathrooms and everything you need. There's a hot tub in the courtyard, which you can sign up to enjoy, an honesty system for bar goods and computer. Fresh tea and coffee available all day and night (even chocolate cake when we were there) and some warm communal lounges to relax and drink it in. This really is a lodge rather than a hotel in that sense, and those hunting for big rooms and big views will be disappointed. But if you like the friendly touches, you'll like it here. A good welcome from the owners, with plenty of advice (and maps) on local walks (Diamond Lake.... wonderful views!) and restaurants (can't recommend The White House enough....). There's a really quirky cinema, Cinema Paradiso, just around the corner too - where you enjoy your film whilst sitting on a sofa (or even a morris minor) whilst munching homemade cookies.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sedickenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    84
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
164
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

The welcome was pleasant enough and the Lodge is well located.
Our biggest complaint is the rooms. They are tiny with very limited cupboard space. Two racks were provided for suitcases but there was insufficient space to utilise them.
The accommodation is two storey and we had a ground floor room. We suffered dreadfully from noise upstairs after 10pm. The occupants used their shower around 1130 pm and it was as if they were in our room with us. We then heard every footstep during the night. We did not sleep well.
Breakfast was good and the staff friendly. There was WiFi but at a charge.
However due to the accommodation issues I cannot recommend this Lodge or describe it as luxurious as advertised. I was also not overly impressed with Wanaka which seems to be 10 % more expensive than everywhere else we visited on the South Island.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
We appreciate your review, and are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Te Wanaka Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We booked our stay based upon the reviews on this site and The Rough Guide, not sure what went wrong with some previous reviews as we found the place to be great. We booked over the internet and asked a few questions as well and we always received a prompt response.

The property is easy to find as Wanaka is fairly small, well located within minutes of the lake shore and its restaurants and bars. Upon check in we were shown to our room and the place in general. The room was perhaps a little small but had a really comfortable bed and a good sized a bathroom. Downstairs is a guest lounge and an honesty bar which we liked the informality of. Internet is also available the same way. However we were not charged perhaps because we only used 15 mins. Outside in the garden area there is also a hot tub that can be booked for 30 minute slots and is out of site. The breakfast in the morning was cooked freshly as we helped ourselves to numerous cold items and was very good.

We found the hosts to be very helpful in providing information, even going as far to suggest a more interesting route over to Dunedin and then from there a shortcut on the way to Mt Cook. Great place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesecreteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

Wanaka is really a non interesting place. Not so far from Queenstown who offers so much, then we stayed at the Te Wanaka Lodge B&B. Good recommendation on every guide. The problem is the previous owner sell and his good reputation has gone 3 months ago with him. Today the welcoming is limited to give you the keys, show you the place and a very nice. Call us if you need something. That's all. Worse, the bar nearby organize hard rock concert, and there is no protection against the sound, no control of people outside. The night spent there was horrible and seems it's not so rare.
If you can, forget about Wanaka....

  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natetjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
We do enjoy the Wanaka/Queenstown comparison. Both towns are very scenic, set in a spectacular environment, however both have very different characters. Queenstown is vibrant, international and bustling, where as Wanaka is laid back, eco friendly, relaxed and run by local owner/operators. Guests can appreciate the beauty of both, however often enjoy one over the other depending on what they are looking for in a holidy

Sorry you were in town when one of the bars had noisy entertainment. This unfortunately does happen from time to time. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

We booked Te Wanaka Lodge because of good Tripadvisor reviews. We expected there to be a good atmosphere but the place seemed soulless. We never got into conversation with anyone other than the staff. It may be that in the Ski season the place comes alive but for us it just didn't.
The room was OK but nothing special. The balcony was very small but you could just see the mountain above the adjoining rooftops.
Overall a little disappointing. We stayed in much nicer places during our 14 night trip to the South Island

  • Liked — NOT A LOT
  • Disliked — Paying for WiFi
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fulstoneflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

Te Wanaka is a fantastic place to stay. The owners are very friendly and ever so helpful, if you need any advice on the area they are very knowledgable and glad to offer advice.

The honesty bar is great - if you're honest! Comfortable surroundings, good coffee, and a few minutes walk into town. Parking outside for a few cars if you're driving. I didn't try the outdoor hot tub, perhaps next time.

Unfortunately, due to Wanaka's nightlife and the friendly locals, I never made it up in time for breakfast, but I'm told by the friends I was with it was excellent. I'm going back in January 2009 for a bit longer so will attempt to get out of bed then.

Service is so good that when booking my room two years after my first time I was remembered by the owners. Can't beat that!

  • Liked — Clean, modern, excellent service
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottonfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

Having searched the web for places to stay in Wanaka we came across Te Wanaka Lodge. It looked lovely and following email correspondance with hosts we decided to book.

Wanaka is a lovely, lovely town on the edges of the breathtaking Lake Wanaka. Te Wanaka Lodge is close by and a really nice place to stay and you feel that the hosts genuinely want you to have a great time.

A lot of thought has clearly gone into this place to make it relaxing, from the comfy leather sofa to the wonderful wines on sale. Truly excellant wines available by the glass.

Breakfast was great too and served by the charming Lynn.

We also booked a Mou Waho nature walk tour with Eco Wanaka Adventures through the hosts. Strongly recommended.

Sadly we only had one night here but I would highly recommend. The lodge is also close to good places to eat and the iconic cinema. The latter is definitely worth a visit for it's quirkiness and amazing homemade ice-cream.

  • Liked — It was so relaxing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Wanaka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Property: Te Wanaka Lodge
Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing