We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we dropped in”

Florences Foodstore & Cafe
Ranked #25 of 84 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Surrey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Glad we dropped in”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Really nice café and foodstore, well worth our dropping in on our way to Te Anau. Excellent service and atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    53
    11
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We loved the atmosphere at Florences as much as the food. After browsing the gorgeous range of foods and kitchen goodies beautifully set out in the warm barn-like space inside, we turned to lunch. As well as pies, quiches and sandwiches of an exceptionally high standard, Florences offered a range of exquisite cakes and pastries. We repaired to a lovely bench seat in the window overlooking the garden and enjoyed the stack of magazines there with our second coffee. Pity we found Florences so late in our stay in Wanaka.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

There were 6 of us staying at the Oakridge across the road and we found Florence's a bit late in our week long stay really - or we would have been there more often! Great coffee and pastries, fabulous breakfast and the shop has an amazing range of goodies. A big hi to Keighley especially who was so welcoming, but really all of the staff were. The date scones were pretty yummy, NZ does know how to make good scones!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Breakfast was great, coffee was perfect”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I'm a coffee snob, I love my short black and have a issue getting one that is not burnt, weak, cold, and so on. Well done to the team it was perfect as was our breakfast and the food store where my wife enjoyed quite some time getting her retail therapy with quirky foods, sauces etc. The gardens are lovely featuring all sorts of fruit trees, herb gardens and good views of the top of the mountains. Not open dinner times, but great for breakfast, brunch or lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
294 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely luncheon venue”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We enjoyed the food and outdoor seating at Florences and intend to return once more for lunch. There were some interesting and healthy menu choices and a good range of deli items.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JHJHGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florences Foodstore & Cafe also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Florences Foodstore & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing