We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NZs best kept secret”

Francesca's Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Excellent, affordable Italian food with a vibrant atmosphere and a real wood fired pizza oven. Lunch served from 12.00 Pm to 3 pm. Dinner served from 5.00 Pm to late. Bookings essential for dinner. We accept Cash, Eftpos, Visa, Mastercard and American Express only. Gift Vouchers available. No wifi. Open seven days a week.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NZs best kept secret”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This restaurant is NZ best kept secret. Great food and realistic prices. But you must book even at 6pm on a Monday.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank opNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there, Thank you so much for your lovely review and thanks for pointing out the need to book. Dinner reservations are still essential. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    289
    76
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth every dollar!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This has got to be the best Italian I've ever tasted anywhere in the world, and it's totally worth every dollar spent.

Staff are very professional and welcoming which is just, let's face it, that much more appetising. Serving sizes are more than adequate (unless you're a huge eater, you know who you are); we shared 2 mains and a pizza amongst 4 people. I'm not typically a food-raver, but you must must must have the ragu here; it is exquisite. It's also warm, which is always a plus in winter.

It's really popular and tends to get crowded though, so make a booking before you get there or chance a 30 minute wait in the cold >.<

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your glowing review. We really appreciate your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed the ragu. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

After dining here once last July during our annual ski holiday we could not wait to dine here again. It did not disappoint. Food, service, wine all excellent. In fact it was so good we're had three dinners and a lunch at Francesca's this time. Loved it and can't wait for next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Poboxbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there, Thanks for your kind review. We still have nothing on the menu over $30 though. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Italian in town”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very popular restaurant and great food on the high end price for Italian but all very good and the pizzas are good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keithbath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed evreything. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Bellini's & Pizza”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice traditional place, lovely woodfired pizzas and cocktails. Worth a visit. You can dine outside with heaters or indoors if you prefer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EP222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Owner at Francesca's Kitchen, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi there, Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed dining with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francesca's Kitchen also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing