We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homestay you'll never forget!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dell B&B/Homestay
Ranked #33 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“A homestay you'll never forget!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Michelle and I stayed with Dave and Penny (& their lovely pets Ace, Molly and Spike) while they were still located in Christchurch in their lovely house. We had our honeymoon in NZ during Oct-Nov 2011. We were so taken by their warmth and hospitality that we had my brother and his wife stay with them at Dell B&B during their honeymoon stopover in Wanaka in Mar 2013.

Dave invited us on his daily walks with Ace & Molly at the nature reserve and we had a splendid time watching them chase birds and playing fetch. We sat down at dinner with Penny and Dave and they shared their food with us and we chatted for a long time. After dinner we were treated to delicious pavlovas made by Penny. They also shared a dessert given by their neighbour.

They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable at their place. They respected our privacy and made us feel right at home. We welcome them to stay over at our place in Singapore anytime!

We would most definitely love to visit them again soon :)

Lots of love,
Simon & Michelle

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pene S, Owner at The Dell B&B/Homestay, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
hello there Simon and Michelle. Thankyou both for that lovely review and also reccommending us to your brother and his wife. It was a pleasure to meet them both just as it was when we met you and we certainly hope that we can either see you over here again sometime soon or meet with you one day if we manage to pass thru Singapore on our way to the UK. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and would love to show you round our new home here in Wanaka sometime.............there's lots to see and do here.
best wishes from both Dave and Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

In January we had the most idyllic 3 day break at "The Dell", a few minutes drive from the beautiful, scenic Wanaka. Our hosts, Penny and Dave, were so warm and welcoming and with their lovable dogs (Ace and Molly) made us feel right at home. Our bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were excellent. It is so quiet and peaceful there - we had fantastic sleeps! Dave and Penny were very helpful in recommending places to go to in the area. They have a beautiful home which is ideally placed and in close proximity to so many interesting and scenic places and the view is amazing! If you are heading to that part of the South Island, New Zealand, we highly recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pene S, Owner at The Dell B&B/Homestay, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Patricia, thankyou for the lovely review you have written here for The Dell. It was pure pleaure having you and David stay here with us and we sincerely hope that you both visit with us again. We enjoy having people stay here with us and just love being able to show our guests a good time and enable them to be able to see our piece of Paradise as we do too. Again many thanks and we hope that we are able to entertain you both again sometime
Best wishes to you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We (two adults and a young teenager) stayed with Dave and Penny (and Ace and Molly) for four days in January 2013. We were treated like family whilst given privacy and respect for our whole stay. Our rooms were immaculate as with the whole property. At Dave and Penny’s suggestion we managed to visit and explore both Wanaka and the surrounding areas. Thanks to this we enjoyed our trip even more than we anticipated. Having a cider at the local Luggate historic pub was a highlight and what a bonus it was only a five minute walk to get there. Another highlight was unwinding by the creek in the Dell each day sharing a laugh and a chat with Dave and Penny. Our only regret was having to leave this magnificent countryside and hosts. We could not be more complimentary of our hosts and we will definitely be staying with Dave and Penny again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pene S, Owner at The Dell B&B/Homestay, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thankyou for that wonderful review. Both Dave and I as well as our 2 pups thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and would love to have you all back here staying with us again...........hopefully sometime soon. The ski season will come around all too soon and perhaps you would like to visit then and enjoy some of the local ski fields that we have near us. Again many thanks and best wishes to you all. We look forward to seeing again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Dell is a beautiful property just outside of Wanaka, NZ. Excellently maintained and fantastic hosts mean that you'll be well looked after here.

Dave & Penny (and their 2 gorgeous dogs Ace and Molly) make great company and go above and beyond expectations to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

The bedrooms are all beautifully sized and very comfortable and clean. I would recommend staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beck533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pene S, Owner at The Dell B&B/Homestay, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thankyou for that lovely review. It was a pleasure having you here staying with us and seeing you enjoy our beautiful country and town. We would love to see you here and stay with us again should you return and we certainly hope that you do choose to come back and enjoy our wonderful summer.
Best wishes to you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
8.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
7.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dell B&B/Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dell B&B/Homestay

Property: The Dell B&B/Homestay
Address: 14 Church Rd | Luggate, Wanaka 9383, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private B&B/Homestay on an acre and a half of pure peace and quiet with magnificent mountain views, walking/cycling tracks nearby and just 10 minutes drive to the Lake Wanaka Lakefront. Reasonable rates, friendly accommodating staff and two dogs for the animal lover. More can be seen on social media ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing