We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Altogether very enjoyable”
Review of Bistro Gentil

Bistro Gentil
Ranked #5 of 88 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in a beautiful garden setting infused with artwork from world renowned artists, overlooking the lake and mountains of Wanaka, Bistro Gentil serves wonderful modern French cuisine using only the best seasonal produce from Central Otago and it's kitchen garden. Being the first South Island restaurant to house an Enomatic wine-dispenser system, diners can enjoy a range of fine wines by either the glass, half glass or taster. With indoor and outdoor seating, we are open for à la carte dining Tuesday to Saturday evenings. A seven course degustation menu is also available on Friday and Saturday. You are welcome to try our complimentary samples of olive oils and pure fruit balsamic vinegars. Bistro Gentil was recommended in the 2014 Cuisine Good Food Guide.
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have had dinner here several times now and it has been consistently good. While we did find the lunch portions small, the dinner portions are perfect. We like the wine dispenser system where you have an opportunity to try out different wines, especially good if there are just a few of you.
The service is very good. Warm , friendly, personable ..........you do get the feeling they want you to have a nice time as well as a good meal .Kenny's Cocktails and Mocktails are excellent! Would definitely recommend.

Thank holyisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review holyisle. We really appreciate your feedback and repeated custom. Following guests' feedback, our lunch menu was changed to follow a more traditional format as opposed to small plates to mix and share. We will be delighted to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 339 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

A great experience with a group of 8
food and service superb and views before sunset as we had
a drink on verandah gave a fine start
to the holiday
Wine dispenser worked well for extra glasses
We will be back

1  Thank bt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Wonderful food-great choices in wine excellent personal service. Away from downtown just enough to feel part of community. Highly recommend.

Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

May be we arrived on an off night but the much -vaunted wine dispenser didn't seem to be working properly, the food was disappointing with the main course just warm enough not to be complained about (slow roast lamb which was half fat) and the maître d keener to chat to some favoured customers rather than attending to the service.
Not one of the better meals we had in New Zealand

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia L, Guest Relations Manager at Bistro Gentil, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are sorry you were disappointed WildlifeWatcher90 but since you visited over a month ago, it is difficult to address your comments in great detail. We can report that our wine machines are giving guests great pleasure in dispensing 24 wines by the glass, half glass and taster. With many winemakers among our regular customers, we do our best to make sure we offer an interesting pick from both Central Otago and France. We would be delighted to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Really enjoyed 'Trust the Chef" menu. beautiful setting and just amazing food. Pricing was very reasonable and wine selection great. Many thanks to Kenny for service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bassett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Gentil also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Bistro Gentil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing