We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 88 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hung out for a couple of hours had drinks with some friends, nice atmosphere. Decided to eat in the restaurant, good varied menu with attentive staff. Meals arrived in good time and restaurant filled up pretty quickly. Tasty well sized grub.

Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback. The Wanaka Speights Ale House is certainly a popular spot to meet up with friends for a drink and then dine. We are glad you enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 671 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The food is simple, well portioned and good value. We picked an outside table which had a great view, if a trifle chilly on an early March evening. A good choice of beers, good because I developed a taste for Speights while in New Zealand.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JackNIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback. The outside tables are certainly a great place to sit back, enjoy the view over a Speights and something to eat. Puffer jackets are now becoming the order of the day - as you are quite correct the evenings are now chilling off - very quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

As regular users of the Dunedin Speight's Ale House, we had high expectations and looked forward a good pub meal. Upon arrival the Wanaka Ale House was very crowded however the waiting staff made a good effort and successfully found us a table for four. The menu was as expected with options for most palates. Service was good considering how busy they were and there was no unreasonable waiting time or delays with our food. The meals were good honest pub food - not quite as good as the Dunedin Ale House mind, but tasty and good value all the same. Would probably return again next time we go to Wanaka.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Our staff do their utmost to accommodate everyone especially when we are very busy so it is pleasing to hear that you were attended to quickly and a table was found for you. We look forward to you returning to dine with us when you are next up from Dunedin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was a sports bar with excellent service and great burgers! Staff were very helpful in accommodating us as restaurant was fully booked.Wish there was more than one TV!

Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback. The burgers are certainly a popular choice from our menu - especially when watching the big screen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What could be better than a beer, a meal and a fabulous view? The Speight's Ale House is on Wanaka's main street and looks straight out over the lake. We went on a Friday evening for a drink and meal. We had two kids - one a teenager, the other age 10. The meals suited everyone and our youngest ordered from the fairly standard kids menu. The beer selection - as you'd expect with Speights - was extensive and it was fun browsing through deciding what to order. They also offer a tasting "plate" so you can try a selection of beers.
The service was prompt and friendly and the meals were good. I had chicken filo parcels which were really good - crisp not soggy as sometimes happens with filo. My husband had a smoked salmon salad and said it was pretty good. The teenager had the fish and chips - thick cut chips which went down well.
Overall a great meal, and we enjoyed the location as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiwipippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking to time to feedback on your recent dining experience at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. It is great to hear that your entire family were happy with everything and that you enjoyed the beautiful views. We hope when you are back in Wanaka you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing