We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise!”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #13 of 90 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Came to Wanaka for Warbirds over Wanaka airshow along with a large contingent of aviation enthusiasts and show participants. Although part of a chain we all were very pleased with the food and beer choices on offer. Fairly quick service considering how busy they were and always friendly helpful staff. Good menu and we always got a table within a few minutes
When the weather is good, nice to sit out front. All good.

Thank jonathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Just to clairfy - Speights Ale Houses are not part of a chain despite holding the Speights Ale House name. They are all individually owned and operated. We are glad you were happy with the beer and food choices available and you got to sit outside on the deck and experience Wanaka going by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 693 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious meal with friends in Wanaka. Food fair bit better than "pub food", and as a consequence a little pricier. But nevertheless I think worth the markup in comparison.

1  Thank emohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found our fair to be of good value and delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We ate at Speights after receiving a discount card from our Wanaka hotel, and were very happy we did. We shared the "chips and gravy and cheese" and lamb shanks. I got Isaac's berry cider, and my husband had the feijoa/pear soda. The food and drinks were all fabulous, and reasonably priced.

Thank 294beckyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. The "chips, gravy and cheese" is a very popular snack...especially now that the temperature is dropping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Not entirely consistent as my lamb's fry was beautiful while husband's chicken was overcooked, but overall, a good restaurant with a range of choices.

Thank trixdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback - our menu has a large selection - which we pride ourselves on. You will always find something for your palate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We've eaten at other Speight's Ale Houses, but this was the first visit to the one in Wanaka. It was a busy night and we didn't book ahead, but the staff found us a table in 10 minutes as promised. It was enough time to start with some of Speight's fine ale as we waited. I've always enjoyed the Old Dark but tried the Porter this time which I enjoyed just as much. My wife ordered the lamb shanks (we've had those before) and live up to the Speight's standard. I went for the beef burger and was not disappointed. It was quality beef. The humble chip which accompanies most pub food is often an afterthought and disappointing. Speight's chips are a delight. The presentation of the food has improved since our visit to the Queenstown Ale House many a few years ago. The presentation this time was more restaurant standard rather than just a plate of pub food, but still at pub prices. Warning, the servings are still generous, so work up an appetite. Service was prompt and attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback. It is always fantastic to read reviews like yours - we appreciate that. We are pleased that you found your meal, beverages, service and general atmosphere to your liking. We do hope that next time you are out from Hobart - you will be able to pop in and enjoy another evening in the Wanaka Speights Ale House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing