We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Best place to stay in Lake Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Lakeside Apartments in Lake Wanaka and wished we could have stayed longer. The lakeside location is excellent, the views from all of the apartments of the lake are excellent, the service is excellent, and walking into the apartment for the first time, takes your breath away, They are superb. The kitchen alone, blew me away, it was nicer than mine at home! Double dishwasher, large fridge and freezer. Very comfortable beds and ensuites, a lovely lounge to relax in, with dining table, television, DVD player etc. 2 terraces with outdoor furniture.
Walking distance to local shops and restaurants. Cannot fault and we will return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeStephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

I connot speak highly enough of our stay. Our accomodation was second to none and our host Gary was amazing. We had planned to stay two nights but ended up stayng for three. We will be recommending Lakeside to our friends and we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

These apartments are fantastic! Great rates and very friendly staff. Our son got sick on the morning we were due to check out. The front desk told us to sort him out at the Dr's first and not to stress about the check out time. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Our stay at Lakeside Apartments really "made" our stay in Wanaka. We arrived to find that we had been "upgraded" to one of the penthouse apartments. WOW!! The view was superb, the apartment was immaculate and very well appointed. Waking up in the morning to an amazing view of Lake Wanaka was very special. Allan at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly and provided us with any information we required, i.e. eating places, suggested trips and local knowledge. The local restaurants were excellent and we felt that they were very good value for money. There is no better place to stay than these apartments for location and presentation. Hope to return here some time in the near future. Thank you to the management team. Would recommend these apartments without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just recently came back from an amazing ski holiday in NZ, made all the better by our stay at Lakeside. Checked in for 2 nights ended up staying 3 and delaying our flights out. After staying 5 nights at a totally over priced hotel in Queenstown (thats another storey) our stay at Lakeside was more than satisfying. Breathtaking lake view apartment, massive kitchen, ultra clean and modern facilities including the 2 hot tubs. I couldn't recommend this place anymore and will be sure to be back next year. Special thanks to the helpful management they were fantastic.

Working for an airline we have stayed in a lot of hotels and this was up there with the best.

Room Tip: Lave view apartments are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khrissurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petemacpherson, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Lakeside.

We had a great end of season on Sunday with fresh snow on the mountains and t-shirt weather in the town.

We are pleased you liked the hot tubs; we took the plunge in July and invested in a second hot tub which has been popular with our guests. We are even thinking of adding a third next year! The combination of an awesome lake view and relaxing your aching skiing muscles in a hot tub is certainly magic.

All of our apartments have spectacular views of Lake Wanaka and Mount Aspiring National Park; from the ground floor apartments, just steps away from the pool, to the penthouses with their large balconies and their own private hot tub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Fantastic 2 night stay in 1 bedroom apartment (201). Breathtaking views of lake wanaka, 2 mins stroll into town and local restaurants etc. Friendly helpful service (Gary at front desk was good value). Couldn't recommend this facility more highly. High level finish, common areas clean and modern, competitive price especially considering what is on offer!

Room Tip: 201 is mint, however pretty sure there are plenty with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The apartment was fabulous, spacious, very clean and modern. More than a home away from home, this was a fantastic treat away from home. The location couldn't of been better, very central to all the cafe's bars and activities.

Located on the lakefront so an amazing view from the balcony. We were extremely happy with everything and would recommend to anyone. Can not wait until we come back in Summer - thank you Gary.

Also; there's a brilliant kids playground over the road for those travelling with children.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petemacpherson, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and pointing out the variety of accommodation we have.

When we took over the management of the apartments last November, we liked the flexibility of the apartments, allowing us to utilise just one ensuite bedroom or to open up either one or two more bedrooms for friends or family.

Hopefully you will find time to have another trip to Lakeside in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
848 reviews
0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £180 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing