We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were touring South Island with our daughter & son-in-law & on my brother's recommendation we stayed at Lakeside. It was the best accommodation we had on our trip & Wanaka is a lovely place. The apartment had absolutely everything you could ask for & the beds are so comfy. The location is perfect & we saw the most amazing sunset from our balcony! Couldn't have asked for more. We hope to return one day. Keep up the good work!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
161
228
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

An unexpected stop due to the mountain being closed because of bad weather. Great decision. Beautiful apartments, beautifully appointed. Right on the lake. Make sure you go to bed early enough to see the sunrise over the mountains and the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miree61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed two nights late June with my boyfriend. Could not have been a more perfect location for our first visit to new zealand. Our room had views onto lake wanaka and the imposing snow capped mountains of mount aspiring national park. A short 2 minute stroll into town . The sunset from the outdoor spa with a glass of pinot w memorable. Rooms are modern and clean, a bathrobe would have been nice. We had one roomof a three bedroom apartment which was too much space for us considering we eat out alot. Therefore the price was rather dear. Would be more suited to a family or several couples therefore making it more economcial. Cannot fault the view or location.slight issue in that Free wifi did not work in our room which was too far from reception.

Room Tip: Dont pick room 101 as wifi doesnot work
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Lakeside Apartments – what a great introduction to New Zealand.

All our apartments have three bedrooms with the added ability to lock off one or two bedrooms and one of the two bathrooms. This means when there is only one bedroom used, these apartments are extremely spacious yet when three bedrooms are used there is still ample room for the six or seven guests. And of course, each apartment has that breath-taking view of the lake and mountains.

Thank you for commenting on strength of the WiFi signal which can be problematic in the apartments further away from reception. We have now taken the plunge and are installing boosters to counteract this problem, so any future guests do not have the slight issue you had.

Hopefully you have a taste for New Zealand and Wanaka so will be back in the not too distant future. If you book a Penthouse Apartment for your next trip, bathrobes are included :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Recently my mother and me went to Wanaka to visit my brother and his kids. Instead of getting two hotel rooms I thought I'd take a quick look online to see if we couldn't get a two bedroom apartment for similar cash. I quickly saw that the Lakeside Apartments were highly rated, and also very reasonably priced. An apartment for less than the price of two rooms in a hotel (off-peak season)! When we arrived we were thoroughly impressed! The biggest surprise was the space! Hotel rooms are usually somewhere around 25-30sq/m, this apartment was huge, tons of living, dining and fully equipped kitchen space, plus a 15+sq/m deck directly overlooking the lake with two large bedrooms, one en-suite, to boot! All of the equipment, furnishings and furniture were of high quality and the apartment was spotless and well kept. Internet and sat tv were all included, this was a great place to stay.
Service from the apartment team was super friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem, even when confronted with user-error! I would highly recommend these apartments to anyone wishing to stay a couple of days as we were or a week or more for skiing or summer fun!! I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I am a hotel freak meaning that I have to go to 5 places before I choose the one to stay ,but when i arrive to Lakeside I knew I have found the best,everything here is perfect the location ,the beauty generosity and luxury of the appartment and the kindness of the people who work there ,we are mexican independent travelers planing to stay in Wanaka for 4 days and end up staying 23!!! When we finally had to leave ,we were worried inmigration will deport us to Mexico,we forgot a laptop cable in the room and Geary sent it to us to Geraldine! and didnt want to charge us for that .THEY ARE REALLY THE BEST.

Room Tip: always see more than one room before choosing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is the best place we have ever stayed. 3 nights was not enough as it was true luxury. Great kitchen with all the best quality fittings. 50 inch screen TV. Lovely bed with stunning view from bedroom and living room. Lovely deck with comfortable furniture. Great service from friendly host. lock up garage close by. Just fabulous.

Room Tip: Very close to shops, restaurants etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My partner and I recently stayed in a premier apartment (301) for two nights. We couldn't have been more impressed with the apartment: quality decor, very spacious, well kitted-out kitchen, spotlessly clean and an amazing view of Lake Wanaka and the surrounding mountains. Lakeside Apartments are in an exceptional location; Wanaka's top restaurants are right at the doorstep and it is a quick, flat walk to the New World Supermarket. The bed in our apartment had a pillow-top mattress which was a little uncomfortable for me as I have a bad back but I'm sure this wouldn't be an issue for most.

We're contemplating having our wedding in Wanaka next year and will definitely encourage all of our friends and family to stay at Lakeside Apartments.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend apartment 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaJaSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
746 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Property: Lakeside Apartments
Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing