We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Place to Stay in Wanaka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in Wanaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We travelled in September and it was still fresh and nippy. The view from the room is stunning so get a lake front room for sure. The rooms are self contained and there is a supermarket and bottle shop around the corner.
The staff are friendly and rooms very clean with everything you need but food. They are not cheap but I was surprised to see that you can heggle the price down, we got a discount of 15% from advertised price. Wanaka can get very full during the wings over Wanaka and during peak ski season.
Once again the views are the best in Wanaka and its an easy walk to everything in town.
Highly recommended for a beautiful experience of NZ.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
157
224
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My family has recently toured the whole of South Island recently and we must say that Lakeside Apartments has given us the best memories! In fact, we were all very excited when we entered the apartment. Extremely clean rooms with a well equipped kitchen and lovely lake view from the living room. What more can we ask for? Not forgetting great hospitality from the family who owns the place. Many thanks for making our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelawongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I agree with all the comments made by the other reviewers. These lakeside apartments are extremely well located with jaw dropping views of the lake and snow capped mountains beyond. Just walk across the road to all the bars and restaurants, and after a meal and a few glasses of fine pinot, walk back home. No drinking and driving. The free wifi is fast and reliable, the apartment is well appointed and the beds are comfy. The management is friendly and helpful. Then there are the little things that are appreciated; the ground coffee and plunger and complimentary cookies and the morning paper delivered to your door. This is a five star amenity at a very reasonable price. I have stayed at other apartments in Wanaka and most are pretty ordinary. We will stay at Lakeside every time we visit Wanaka. There really isn't anywhere else that compares.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in Wanaka. Hugely spacious apartment, immaculately cleaned and just a beautiful place to stay. We were on our second stop of travelling all around the South Island and if we hadn't already booked our next stop we would have stayed longer without a doubt. Free wifi, so close to town, a beautiful view and great heating - not to mention the awesome pool and spa. Very friendly and helpful management was a bonus too. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay,spacious,modern,big plasma with free pay tv,one minute walk to town and awesome views..we liked it so much we stayed for 5 nights.if i win the lotto i'm buying one of these apartments.i miss wanaka..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you are visiting Wanaka then lakeside Apartments is the obvious place to stay. The apartments are in a prime position overlooking the lake and mountains and only a few minutes walk into the main street. The clever design allows for 2-8 people to stay in an apartment, but you only pay for the number of bedrooms used. The apartments are spacious and well designed. The fittings and furnishings are high quality, the heating is excellent, the kitchen is well equiped and the views are amazing. Don't hesitate to stay here. Garry, one of the owners, is very helpful and happy to assist with advice on where to eat, activities etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 which had a wrap around balcony and expansive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The resort looked fantastic from the outside. We were travelling with another couple and were able to make a last minute booking. The unit we were shown was huge and extremely well appointed, what you would expect from a 5 star resort. We would have loved to have stayed longer but our tight schedule did not allow this. We went for a relaxing walk around the lake in the morning...fantastic. I would recommend this resort.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank blbauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your brief stay at Lakeside Apartments.

The apartments certainly do accommodate couples travelling together. With their spacious living areas and two bathrooms, each couple have their own private space to relax and enjoy their stay.

We are experiencing a wonderful weather high here in Wanaka at the moment and with the longer days and still winter snow on parts of the skifields, it truly is paradise.

Hopefully, when you next come to Wanaka, you will be able to plan a longer holiday and enjoy more of what Wanaka offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Property: Lakeside Apartments
Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing