We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staying there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great staying there”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for an extended weekend for a family wedding. The apartments were beautiful and very comfortable. Convenient to walks and town. It was a large apartment, beautifully furnished and would strongly recommend it to others. We would love to stay again on our next trip. Very clean, the beds increadibly comfortable and the best views from mulitple levels. We had lots of family staying so we all so different apartments and were impressed by all. The higher the rooms the better the views. In summer when the pools are popular, I could see a family enjoying the ground floor better than couples. The views from the penthouses are stunning. Great for groups, and families as well as all in between.

Room Tip: More privacy on the higher levels, better pool access for children on the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lakeside Apartments.

What a wonderful occasion the wedding was. Everyone certainly seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Yes, the apartments are so central and convenient for shopping, restaurants and cafes. With their spacious and luxuriously fitted out interiors, Lakeside Apartments is the perfect place to stay.

With so many apartments booked for this special occasion, you managed to see that all apartments have a spectacular view of the lake and mountains beyond.

Hopefully, your next trip to Wanaka is not too far away and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lakeside Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
163
235
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I wanted to buy the apartment I was so impressed with both Lakeside itself and the hidden gem Wanaka. You could not get a better location in this spectacular little town, views over the lake and the mountains on the other side. It is right in the middle of town so you can walk to most places - you will want to - and have restaurants and shops just around the corner.

The is the best place we stayed in during our 10 day road trip. The 2 bedroom apartment is spacious and designed in order to benefit from the lake atmosphere. The beds nearly too comfortable. It is open, roomy, large and the bedrooms both have their own bathrooms. There is a large living area and an open kitchen where we had our breakfast. For the first time during the trip,we decided to stay in for some of our meals.

If you want to go for a morning jog, take your boys to kick the rugby ball in the park or a late afternoon beer in one of the lake facing restaurants, this place will suit you perfectly. It probably goes without saying that the hospitality was friendly, professional and anticipatory as is the case nearly everywhere in New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in 3-bedroom apartment which is on the 3rd floor corner unit. It has HUGE balcony with 270 degree view of the lake and wanaka. The unit is spacious and very modern equipped with full kitchen facilities and living room. Very comfy beds as well. 3-BR apartment is perfect for a group of friends like us or a big family. The location is exellent. I wish I could stay here longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I highly recommend this place and would certainly stay here again given the chance.

My partner and I were travelling around the South Island and initially booked 3 nights here, but after looking at the location decided to stay for 5 nights. Fabulous location right by the water's edge. You can't get any closer to Lake Wanaker. We stayed in room 205. Lovely vies from our room.

Staff very friendly and helpful - gave plenty of advice and nothing too much trouble. Good base to explore the surrounding area.

In short, an almost faultless location and facility.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papofurado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

the location is excellent, its right by all the shops and the lake. the apartment itself was very spacious, and very well equipped. especially the kitchen which my mother in law loved. i strongly recommend this place if you are staying in wanaka.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srjk_slash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I'm moved to report on an excellent experience at Lakeside Apartments. The location, in the centre of Wanaka is excellent, yet it isn't noisy. The complex is well constructed and thoughtfully designed. The amenities are excellent with good parking facilities, barbecue, pool all at a high standard. The apartments are well designed with excellent equipment - fridge, dishwasher, washing machine are all in good condition. What's outstanding is how well maintained the apartments are. Management should be applauded for putting together a housekeeping team which does a superb job. Our apartment was spotlessly clean. Plaudits to management and to the teams who work there. This was a great stay. Thanks!
Oh, and then there's Wanaka itself, a very beautiful place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IIJAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I write this as we are on our last night of a 4 night stay here and we are quite sad to leave. We have loved every minute of our time at the Lakeside apartments and Wanaka itself.

The apartments are really stunning. So well laid out, furnished, appointed and they are huge! They are very centrally located, have to-die-for views and the staff are fantastic.

Even though it has only been low-20's in terms of temperature while we've been here, the kids have swum in the pools almost every day as they are heated over the Summer months. If it is not warm enough to use the pool there are 2 spas available.

Great BBQ facilities out the front too. Cook your dinner while looking out over Lake Wanaka and the beautiful southern alps, or relax in the comfort of your apartment on the balcony with a wine watching the sunset. All good!

Every apartment has it's own under cover garage as well, which would be especially great if you came here during the snow season to keep the snow, etc off your car. Apartments are serviced daily.

You really do not want for anything here and we are leaving wishing we could stay longer and will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Property: Lakeside Apartments
Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing