We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be Faulted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The apartment was lovely and the view was beautiful. The reception staff were very helpful with respect to the local restaurants. The price was very reasonable. We couldn't fault our stay, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cathrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This time we had room 201 which was on the second floor on the corner. Wow, light soaked huge living space with a massive veranda overlooking the oh so beautiful Laka Wanaka. We love it here and will certainly stay again. Free wi fi, great heating, massive TV with all of the Sky Channels, very short walk into town and all that Wanaka offers. HUGE fully equipped kitchen which did not get used because there are so many great places to eat in town. There were even a few brave souls using the heated spas!! Not for us I'm afraid but looked like fun. This is a really well run place and we would certainly stay here again when visiting Wanaka.

Room Tip: I think rooms on the second and third floors would potentially be a bit quieter. The rooms on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoNQCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Your second stay as well.

The apartments are very spacious and as you say, very light and warm. They are well laid out with the master bedroom at the front and two further bedrooms at the rear, allowing us to lock off bedrooms not needed. As the apartments are very spacious when fully occupied with six guests, they are very very spacious if occupied by only two or four guests.

With all apartments having lake and mountain views and massive TV with so many channels, why would you want to stay anywhere else in Wanaka.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed on the 2nd floor of the apartments and were amazed by the standard of the rooms and views off the balcony.
Staff were friendly and helpful and we were a 2 minute walk from great cafés and bars.
Very happy with our decision to stay at lakeside, would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a great place to stay. The managers were very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was perfect, well maintained, tidy and well stocked with the essentials. The location was perfect, right in the heart of Wanaka with stunning views across Lake Wanaka. Offered us a late check out which was very much appreciated and free luggage storage. I really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend anyone coming to Wanaka to stay here.

Room Tip: Great walks around the lake, I highly recommend the lake walks. Book an apartment with a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leamcquillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The apartments have it all. Family with teens on skiing holiday had plenty of room within our unit with easy access to ski shuttles. Full well-equipped kitchen for dining in, however, most Wanaka restaurants are within a 5 minute walk. Washer/dryer within the units, and daily servicing of apartments. Our unit was on the ground floor but we still had nice views and direct access to pool area and front gate.
As others have mentioned, Gary is very helpful and accommodating. Recommended for families, definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank websterBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you would recommend our apartments for family stays. Many families have stayed with us whilst skiing at the local resorts, over the busy school holidays. As you say, the apartments are ideal because of their spacious interiors and central location for the cafes and restaurants in town.

As you say, even though the Poolside apartments are on the ground floor, they command nice lake and mountain views.

Hopefully we will see you again next year, or perhaps during another school holiday break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in apartment 201 on corner if second floor and it was a great spot. Very roomy with master away from two other bedrooms which was great when kids went to sleep. Fully decked out kitchen was also great with our small kids aged 1,3 and 6 as we like to eat in at times. Management were also very helpful and friendly. Another great feature is that the apartments are serviced daily so always nice and clean. They thought if the little things which I loved, cot was ready, high chairs available. Great spot for walking everywhere around town also, very central. Overall loved out stay here, will be coming back!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank RiseyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The stunning setting, proximity to the town centre and bus stop, and location just opposite a fantastic kids park, makes this a perfect choice for young families. Our apartment was incredibly spacious with 2 large bedrooms and bathrooms, laundry, a hall for ski gear, and an enormous open plan lounge, dining, and kitchen area. WiFi worked perfectly, facilities were great, and it's really good value.

Looking at the beautiful view of the snow-capped mountains and Lake Wanaka more than made up for the slight lack of ambience of the apartment itself, which was tasteful and modern, yet without much personality. Then again, who cares about decor when all you want to do is gaze outside.

The service is exceptional, and started from the time of our reservation. Carelessly, while booking online, I mistakenly reserved a week in April instead of July as intended. I received a text one April morning (whilst at work in Brisbane), asking if there was a problem, as we hadn't arrived at Lakeside Apartments on the expected day. Panicked, and fully expecting to pay for the week I had inadvertently booked, I phoned Gary who chuckled at my mistake and cheerfully rebooked us for July. No penalty. No hassle. I don't know of any other accommodation providers who would have been so forgiving, even in low season.

Gary was also full of helpful tips and advice about what to do in town, and no request seemed too much trouble for him.

Our only complaint about our week in Wanaka, (the purpose of which was to ski Treble Cone), was the Yellow ski shuttle. Although Yellow will pick up and drop off straight from the apartments, they offer only one shuttle a day, which departs at 07:45. This might be fine for some families, but for us and our young kids, this really impacted negatively on our enjoyment of the whole experience. Treble Cone is approximately 45 mins from Wanaka, but when you are picked up first, and dropped off last, the bus travel amounts to well over an hour each way, or around 2.5 hours/day. If we return to Wanaka for a ski holiday in future, we will choose another bus company for transport to the slopes, or hire a car.

Room Tip: Our room on the third floor had a stunning view, but as far as we can tell, even ground floor apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review of your stay and exceptional service at Lakeside Apartments.

With the layout of these apartments we are able to open up two extra bedrooms as well as the master, offering great flexibility to accommodate couples, friends and families. As they are so spacious as well, families always benefit from plenty of room for a longer stay.

We always like to reviews that confirm our exceptional service, so thank you for letting potential guests know of the lengths we go to ensure all our guests have a great stay.

Regarding the comment on the ski-field bus shuttle, there are two companies in town, one of which is Yello!, each offering a similar service. Due to the size of the town, there is only the need for one ski bus shuttle per day and to make the most of the day, leaves town around 8am, returning around 5pm. For your next visit you might like to consider private shuttles which can take you up and down the mountain at your convenience - the managers have details for bookings. With a family of 4 or 5, the convenience of a private shuttle may balance out the increase in cost.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: £175 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing