We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic But Great!”
Review of Wanaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wanaka Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic But Great!”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here twice (on separate occassions) and had a great experience both times. The rooms are a bit out dated, but clean and comfortable. The prices were fab, location is wonderful and the WiFi is very reasonably priced. Also had a great breakfast at the Cheeky Monkey next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    196
    144
    46
    17
See reviews for
105
264
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Hotel Wanaka has average rooms with fantastic service. The rooms were old and out-dated but clean. We had some trouble with our heater, but they provided us with a little fan heater which helped warm up the place. This hotel is in a good location, with a very pretty view. It is spacious and would be good for those travelling on a budget. The receptionist was extremely helpful and checked the road report for us on our departure and was willing to help in any way she could.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bottom floor if you’re travelling with a lot of luggage as there is no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantel-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurnell
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Had a great stay in Wanaka Hotel , the staff are more then friendly and happy to help. The room are a little old but still very clean. We got ungraded to a garden room and was very happy with this. Its in a great spot and very close to everything and the lake across the road. Would be more then happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh01Kurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The outstanding friendliness of staff made up for the small, dated hotel rooms. A little over-priced compared to other establishments in south island tourist destinations.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are at ground level - easy access. Lake facing rooms have a great view but need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Very nice hotel right downtown at a great price $129.00 with a Fabulous view. Large room, very clean and a large balcony overlooking the water. Stayed 2 nites. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00StoneyLake00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

It's slightly outdated, but it is clean, quiet, well positioned in the heart of town. The top floors accommodates 3 people per room, and have the views. The lower floor up to 4 people. You can make coffee / tea. We were told it was a "3 Star" Hotel, so were not expecting the trimmings you would expect to pay for at the more expensive accommodations. But for our family of 4 having travelled for 3 weeks, for $89 for the night, it served our needs.

Room Tip: If you have no more than 3 in your travelling party, ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Clean, fairly spacious and well equipped room and guest kitchen and laundry.

We booked the middle costed room that had a double and bunk beds and balcony (great for afternoon sun). This hotel is in a central location for town and the bottle store next door is very handy for buying sundowners to have on your balcony or on the sunny lawn area to the back of the hotel We used the guest kitchen for our breakfast and it was a great size, well equipped and very clean. There is also plenty of guest parking - if you are lucky you can get a space right at the back door near the guest rooms entrance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Hotel

Property: Wanaka Hotel
Address: 71 Ardmore Street, P.O. Box 26,, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Value Hotel right in the center of Wanaka, only one-minute walk to the Lake and Town Center. Full Restaurant and Bar Facilities on-site. Plenty of free, off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing