We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and unfriendly!”
Review of Wanaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanaka Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed two nights - 11th & 12 th february - booked by travel agent. Welcome was basic, pointed in direction of stairs, with two big cases, there was no lift! Told to go and park 'round the back', then given directions as to how to get from the back to our room - not easy!
No kitchen in the room, which we have had so far in NZ. Just a communal unit for everyone. As we had been booked into units with kitchens, we had a cold bag full of things to go into the fridge! Was packed in together, not easy to get something out! Ate in our room,had plastic dishes and spoons with us. Room was small for a hotel room and the rates charged.
Passed the desk on several occasions Into and out of the building, but often no receptionist there, or she called out to us to wait! On check out, we had to wait whilst a different receptionist checked out at least 4 other clients, very slow. Never saw another member of staff, either cleaners, porters or office staff.
Would not recommend this, unless you want a hotel in the centre of the town and cannot get anything else!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking the lake - wonderful sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

jo ,the daytime front desk manager is amazing,,,she welcomed me ,,helped me to figure out what room type i would feel most comfortable in ,do to decreased mobility,,,she is kind,funny ,pleasant,professional,helpful and truely cares about her clients,,,,i also noticed what a great team player she is,,,,,i am here just for 1 night ,,,came earlier today leave in am ,,just a shout out to your wonderful manager,,little things mean alot!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERMAIDLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

It was old and bed cover was smelly. Not enough plugs. All furniture very outdated. We had a unit with view of garbage containers. Location is great just next to the lake and supermarkets, but you can hear all your neighbours do or say. Wouldn't stay again, really overprised

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank double_yuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

So the location is all this hotel has going for it and that is what you pay for. It is close to downtown like most everything in this town. Go elsewhere if you have the money. The front staff was quite rude. Very thin walls. Very old hotel rooms-pink tile in bathroom for example and decor is out of the 50's. The back parking lot late at night tends to be the hang out for drunks and drug users alike. It made me feel quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A very average hotel quite near the lake. Friendly reception. Payable wifi. Car park at the back was a long walk with heavy cases and no offer of any help (we are in our 60s and had luggage for a 6 week trip). Several food areas in the hotel which were obviously open to non residents but were all uninviting as far as we were concerned. Very dated and not as good as many of the motel rooms we had.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here one night. We prebooked on the internet and it was only $89 for the night. It was a studio unit with ensuite. Very comfortable and clean. The location being just over from the lake made it even better. The carpark out the back was very handy. The best value place of everywhere we went in the South Island staying at a dozen different places.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a night recently on my trip to New Zealand and they provided me with the only bad memory from the trip.

I had pre-booked my room through Agoda. When I arrived, I was a little surprised when the girl at the counter asked for my credit card for an "imprint". I agreed considering that the hotel might want to keep some sort of security if any damage is caused. Horrible mistake on my part.

Stay at the hotel was uneventful. Its an average hotel. Anyway, we checked out early next morning. I went to the front desk to drop the keys and paid 4$ in cash for an internet card we had bought at the time of check-in. There are was a man at the counter who just accepted my key and I left for Franz Joseph.

Trouble started when on that evening I checked my phone to see a charge of 85 NZD on my card from Wanaka hotel. I got a bit alarmed and called the hotel. The lady told me she would check, the put me on hold to attend to other guests at the counter. She returned 10 mins later and told me that the charge was made on account of the room rent. I informed her that the room rent has already been paid as part of the pre-booking through Agoda. She told me she will find out the details and let me know once sorted. I had no option but to trust her and went for a trek to Franz Joseph.

There was no network reception at Franz Joseph, and when I got back I was further alarmed to see another transaction of 78 NZD on my card from Wanaka hotel. I called the hotel and the lady informed me that the earlier charge to my card had already been reversed in the morning. But since she did not know that she went ahead and reversed the same amount again. She soon realized that the first charge had already been reversed earlier and to offset the second reversal she decided to charge back my card the same amount.

For me, I only got alerts for the transactions charged on the card and not the reversals. I told the lady to stop playing around with my credit card. She told me its all should end up to zero. I called back my card company in my home country on roaming and spoke for about 15 minutes only to find that:
1. They could not confirm any reversals being made on the card (it takes 2-3 days)
2. If I instruct them to cancel the card, the reversals will not go through.

The call back home cost me around 80$.

I had a very small amount of credit left on my credit card for that month so decided to bite the bullet. Thankfully I came back home to find the reversals had been made. BUT, I lost 15$ in forex conversion charges.

The hotel staff played around with my card. And apart from the stress and anxiety it caused me, the whole episode cost me another 100$. Will the hotel representatives care to answer as to WHO WILL BEAR THESE COSTS?

SHAMELESS behavior on part of the hotel staff. And I'm irked most by the fact that there was absolutely no apology offered.

Future travelers to this hotel, please learn from my mistake. And take due care.

Room Tip: stay away!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeanKing1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
847 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Hotel

Address: 71 Ardmore Street, P.O. Box 26,, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: £48 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Value Hotel right in the center of Wanaka, only one-minute walk to the Lake and Town Center. Full Restaurant and Bar Facilities on-site. Plenty of free, off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wanaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing