We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the lodge for one night in February 2012. We wished we had stayed more! Upon arrival Carol upgraded us to a bigger room than the one we had booked. She also offered us a couple of mountain bikes that we took for a ride by Lake Wanaka, which was beautiful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable with an updated bathroom. It felt like home. The next day, Ed was there to greet us for breakfast and we had a good time talking to him about a small town in Wisconsin that he had visited near where my husband is from. What a small world! Breakfast was delicious and we spent a long time hanging out with fellow travelers which was also a good time. All in all, a great place and we wished we could have stayed longer – if it weren’t for the fact that we had reservations already in another city for the next night, we would have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Ed and Carol were most gracious, especially when I wanted to change from the room they had booked for us. We ended up in the upstairs "master bedroom" (I think that's what it is called) and it was just wonderful. A corner room with double sinks and a huge shower. There was street noise but that was minimal. The fruit salad at breakfast was fabulous (no canned peaches here!) and best of all, free laundry! I'm pretty picky and this rates in the top 3 out of 11 accommodations we stayed in over our 19 day NZ trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed in the purpose built lodge and had the luxury of being the only guests! From the moment we arrived, we were amazed by the beautiful lodge and its gorgeous rooms. Ed very kindly upgraded us to a bigger room free of charge and showed us around. We didn't have time to try out the hot tub, but it looks fab. There were even free bikes to borrow.
This place is absolutely made to feel like home - from the living room with tv, hi-fi, books and games, to the excellent tea and coffee making facilities with homemade cookies. After exploring the area of Wanaka it was lovely to come back to the lodge and chill out on the sofas with a cup of tea.
Compared to other accommodation we stayed in around NZ, this was by far the best value for money. Wish we had stayed longer - will definitely be recommending to friends!

Room Tip: All rooms are absolutely gorgeous - master has a double shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMonkeyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
278 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Hospitality and rooms are excellent. The beds and linen are the best we have ever found in travelling to many places.
Breakfast is always a treat and it is always a pleasure to meet such interesting fellow travellers

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankthewool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wanaka definitely merits at least a couple of days of your trip to New Zealand's south island.
I've never written a review before but think this place deserves one - Ed and Carole, owners of the Homestead Lodge are very pleasant and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. When they found out we were staying a couple of days after my father had visited, they upgraded our room. The lodge is situated very close to the lake shore and a few minutes from the main high street strip. Ed was very knowledgeable about the local area - we were keen to hike on our first afternoon and we enjoyed perhaps one of our most memorable walks in the country in the Mount Aspiring National park. The following morning, Ed also lent us their mountain bikes and we spent a couple of hours cycling along the scenic shoreline. We enjoyed the very fresh continental breakfast; a great home made fruit salad, choice of muesli and breads etc. Our room was clean, bed comfortable and shower hot. It would have been nice to have another night there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We were three weeks touring the South Island in August, and the few days that we spent here were the most memorable of them all. Wanaka is one of the best places to be and the Homestead the best place to call home while you were there. From here you can do things as jet-boating, skiing, but also relaxing, reading a book or making a barbeque in the house. Thanks a lot to Ed for the great hospitality. This is a must-stop-here :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very close to the lake but not actually overlooking it, this is a beautiful purpose built B & B, a 20 minute stroll from the town centre along the lake shore that’s sure to impress. A very warm welcome from the host who ensured we were shown all the facilities. Our ground floor suite opened out through French doors to the delightful garden with outdoor table and chairs adjacent to our room which was nicely furnished in a contemporary style. The en-suite had quality fittings with a great shower although I found the washbasin far too small and strangely there was little room for toiletries etc. The absence of a fridge in the room was also unusual – all minor issues. There is a comprehensive laundry which is included in the tariff, as is Wifi (not used) as well as a number of trail bikes available for guest use. There is a very comfortable lounge and breakfast is around a very large table – ideal for meeting other guests and hearing of others experiences including someone who’d just come back from working in Antarctica. It was wonderfully quiet at night too – perfect. There’s no doubt this is at the top end of B & B’s – an impressive place. The only mistake we made was not to stay longer. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing