We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed at the Wanaka Homestead for 3 nights while I was in Wanaka on the tail end of a business trip. It is one of the loveliest places I have stayed at and I found it to be clean, modern, well maintained and very comfortable. I loved having the beautiful relaxing spa pool to enjoy after a few long run in stunning Wanaka. The Homestead is conveniently located with in a stones throw of the Lake and within walking distance to the township. The hosts were very friendly, helpful, and attentive and I enjoyed a satisfying breakfast each morning. I was extremely impressed with the Wanaka Homestead and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this paradise. Thank you Ed and Carol.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Maintenance, Upkeep, renewal, renovation, these words spring to mind when you visit a property that essentially has had no work done on it at all for something like 6 or 7 years. The owners need to spend some money here to raise the bar once again. The managers seemed pre-occupied with a private function. We just stayed in our room and brushed off the cobwebs. The spa was dirty and run down. Breakfast was not included. Still Beautiful setting,
Just needs some refurbishment at this stage.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EngelbergAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazza99, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

There are some comments in this review that need to be clarified.

Andy makes it sound as if he was staying in the Lodge and we locked him away in his room for the day while we had a party. When in actual fact Andy stayed one night in our three bedroomed cottage which is fully self-contained with all the amenities for a very comfortable stay.

We did have some friends around the afternoon of Andy’s arrival, between the hours of 1pm and 4pm normally guest are out exploring the wonderful environs of Wanaka at this time rather than staying in their room(s), in Andy’s case a three bedroomed house, looking for cobwebs. I might add the weather was fantastic at this time.

As for not getting breakfast, breakfast has never been inclusive for guest staying in our Cottages. If Andy was to stay in the Lodge he would have been treated to a wonderful breakfast each morning.

All I can say about the spa is that it is treated daily, I find it a bit of mystery being described as dirty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As we walked in to the Homestead we knew we had made the right choice. There was a friendly welcoming feel to the place. Our cottage ensured a lovely roomy stay where everything was as we had wished. .... comfortable beds, tidy, well equipped kitchen, powerful showers, great barbecue and lovely woodland location.  Thank you for ensuring that our stay was relaxed and an absolute pleasure. The weather certainly added the final bonus.

Room Tip: The cottage was ideal for two couples.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank travelleronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed one night after hiking the Milford Track and touring the Queenstown area. The lodge is located a short distance from the town of Wanaka and there is a great walking path along the lake into town. The lodge is located right on a main road so traffic noise can be heard but the road must be lightly travelled at night because we had no problem sleeping. Our room was pleasant but not remarkable and there were specks of dark lint on the carpet that made me wonder if it a thorough vacuuming had been done. The hostess was very pleasant and use of the Internet was appreciated. Coffee/tea and cookies are always available for a quick snack. Guests have free use of a washer and dryer which was REALLY appreciated after being on vacation for over a week. Unless you paid extra, a cooked breakfast was not given. The usual fruit, yogurt and cereal were fine but when paying a decent rate for a B and B, I think a cooked breakfast should be included in the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Lodge in a king-sized bedroom for 3 nights. The Lodge is stylish and comfortable, and the owners are very hospitable and helpful. Bonuses are free WiFi, the use of Lodge mountain bikes, and use of the lounge/dining room with tea/coffee and biscuits.
The following could enhance the experience:
1. A small refrigerator with ice tray would be useful in the rooms.
2. The bikes could do with a service! The gears on one of ours were very stiff to shift, and would unpredictably shift of their own accord.
3. We and our friends were watching a movie in the communal lounge room one wet afternoon. The owner turned the volume down to a level which made the film inaudible. We suspect this was done at the request of other residents. If this is the case then something needs to be done to insulate/isolate guest rooms from communal facilities.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very nice, the doors opening onto a grass courtyard. Very convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Surprised by all the TripAdvisor fuss about this place. We stayed here three nights (largely becuase of Trip Advisor reviews). We rented the two bedroom cottage. While the space was large, clean and comfortable, there were some significant drawbacks that would prevent me from returning. Firstly, it was cold!! The advertized underfloor heating is apparently not switched on until winter. We were there in Autumn, and several times when we woke up in the morning, the temperature had dipped to about 60 degrees. This meant that we ate breakfast huddled under quilts. Second, there is a lack of privacy. The windows of the cottage look out onto a grassy courtyard across which many guests walk. But there were no blinds -- only heavy curtains. So our choice was to have no privacy at all or to draw the heavy curtains and block out all light (as well as the much needed heat of the sun!). A more minor irritant was the fact that the cottage was equipped in a rather spartan fashion. Shampoo, conditioner and soap were of the lowest motel grade type. The kitchen had precisely 4 water glasses. That meant that in the mornings we had to go fetch our water glasses from our night stands and wash them out before using for breakfast. Similarly, one lone dishtowel was provided at a time. Finally, the hot-tub was neither hot nor clean -- it was full of leaves and little twigs and sorely in need of a clean up.
On the plus side, the location was great -- a quick walk into the center of Wanaka. We also liked being able to use the bikes, as well as the laundry facilities. However, we came away feeling that this was very overpriced and was the only disappointing accomodation of our NZ trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theronware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazza99, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

It is disappointing to read that you were cold during your stay at the cottage, especially when this could have been so easily resolved if you had told us about it during your stay.

It would have been no problem for us to turn on the underfloor heating for you. There are also two powerful radiant heaters in the cottage at all times, so we are a little mystified as to why they were not used. March in Wanaka is a beautiful time of the year with warm calm days around 21 degrees and slightly cooler nights. However, we accept that everyone feels the temperatures differently and this could also account for your feeling that the hot tub was not enough - once again, an issue that could have easily been rectified if you had talked to us about it. We value customer feedback and our guests comfort and satisfaction is always paramount as our other reviews on Trip Advisor will confirm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great location, well equipped, fabulously friendly and very helpful staff. We were very well looked after while we stayed here.

Room Tip: We had a groups staying in the Barn which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mardi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
104 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
127 reviews
12.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £118 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing