We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in Wanaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage for 2 nights on 20th and 21st April 2012 and it was a wonderful place to stay with a big living room and kitchen and 2 bedrooms. Bed rooms were nicely done, bathrooms were clean. There were sufficient utensils and tea/ coffee for self catering. i had a 4year old child and there were some toys for him to play. There were enough books and magazines to last a couple of weeks . there was a under floor heating for enitre cottage , though at some places we didnt feel it but there were room heaters also available.
There were spring beds which i particularly dont like as you just sink into it and can hardly move, but perhaps everywhere i went in NZ, it was the same. So this is one area where it was not to my liking but then its a personal preference and its the same everywhere in NZ.
Lastly Ed and Carol were a wonderful host, ready to help anytime and while checking out i found that they didnt charged for my 4 yr old which was a nice gesture from them.
I can surely say that this was the best place i stayed during my entire trip in south island.

amit

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmitDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Ed and Carol are exceptional hosts, making you feel right at home and taking fabulous care of every detail. The Lodge and grounds are exceptional quality and the location is ideal, being adjacent the beach and a short walk from downtown. To say the least, were taken with the Lodge and Wanaka and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you have a party of 4 or more, ask about reserving either of the out buildings which are separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEORGED241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in the Lodge and had such a good experience we returned for another visit. Ed made us a great breakfast each morning and was happy to make us porridge if we preferred it to fresh fruit salad. Ed and Carol, not to forget Douglas made us feel very welcome and comfortable, with great suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to try in Wanaka. We borrowed the Lodge mountain bikes for a ride into Wanaka along the lake front and also towards Rippon with a break for coffee....very nice. The Lodge has won awards for the sustainable building approach, solar water heating, high levels of insulation, etc, it's good to know such a great experience isn't costing the Earth!!! Would recommend as a great place to stay anytime you're in this very special part of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Great to stay in the Lodge if it's just the two of you, we've stayed upstairs and in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at Wanaka Homestead in early April and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ed and Carol were very hospitable. We were 3 adults and 2 young children and stayed in the self catering 2 bedroom cottage. The cottage was perfect for our requirements. We loved the layout and the beautiful lawn right outside our front door was great for the kids to run around. The BBQ facilities were very convenient. Being a a couple of minutes drive from Wanaka was also great especially with the thousands of visitors for the warbirds airshow. Wanaka Homestead is located right next door to an amazing park which winds down to the lake which was convenient with small children.We will definately stay again and Ed and Carol were marvelous hosts and always on hand when we had a question. My mother in law decided to come on holiday with us at the last minute and Ed and Carol were very accommodating. Thanks Wanaka Homestead for a wonderful stay !

Room Tip: If you are a couple the lodge rooms are lovely also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed at the Wanaka Homestead for 3 nights while I was in Wanaka on the tail end of a business trip. It is one of the loveliest places I have stayed at and I found it to be clean, modern, well maintained and very comfortable. I loved having the beautiful relaxing spa pool to enjoy after a few long run in stunning Wanaka. The Homestead is conveniently located with in a stones throw of the Lake and within walking distance to the township. The hosts were very friendly, helpful, and attentive and I enjoyed a satisfying breakfast each morning. I was extremely impressed with the Wanaka Homestead and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting this paradise. Thank you Ed and Carol.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Maintenance, Upkeep, renewal, renovation, these words spring to mind when you visit a property that essentially has had no work done on it at all for something like 6 or 7 years. The owners need to spend some money here to raise the bar once again. The managers seemed pre-occupied with a private function. We just stayed in our room and brushed off the cobwebs. The spa was dirty and run down. Breakfast was not included. Still Beautiful setting,
Just needs some refurbishment at this stage.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EngelbergAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazza99, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

There are some comments in this review that need to be clarified.

Andy makes it sound as if he was staying in the Lodge and we locked him away in his room for the day while we had a party. When in actual fact Andy stayed one night in our three bedroomed cottage which is fully self-contained with all the amenities for a very comfortable stay.

We did have some friends around the afternoon of Andy’s arrival, between the hours of 1pm and 4pm normally guest are out exploring the wonderful environs of Wanaka at this time rather than staying in their room(s), in Andy’s case a three bedroomed house, looking for cobwebs. I might add the weather was fantastic at this time.

As for not getting breakfast, breakfast has never been inclusive for guest staying in our Cottages. If Andy was to stay in the Lodge he would have been treated to a wonderful breakfast each morning.

All I can say about the spa is that it is treated daily, I find it a bit of mystery being described as dirty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As we walked in to the Homestead we knew we had made the right choice. There was a friendly welcoming feel to the place. Our cottage ensured a lovely roomy stay where everything was as we had wished. .... comfortable beds, tidy, well equipped kitchen, powerful showers, great barbecue and lovely woodland location.  Thank you for ensuring that our stay was relaxed and an absolute pleasure. The weather certainly added the final bonus.

Room Tip: The cottage was ideal for two couples.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank travelleronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
103 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
127 reviews
12.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing