We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The majority of the motels we had stayed in during our trip were of a very high standard. However, we thought they couldn't get any better until we arrived at Wanaka Homestead. We hired a cottage for 5 people (2 couples and 1 single person) . When we arrived we were shown to our cottage by Carol, the owner. She gave us an extra room for the other couple, which was part of the attached bed and breakfast, to make us more comfortable.. The facilities were excellent and in a beautiful location. The town was about 15/20 minutes walk, with good places to eat.
To summarise, first class accommodation, clean, comfortable, beautiful location close to the lake, welcoming owner and cute dog, Douglas, who paid us regular visits.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
185
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I spent one night on the way from Milford Sound to the glacier towns. Not right in town, but it was a quick drive to get there and would be a fairly easy walk. We were the only guests the night we were there, and Carol (and Douglas the dog) could not have been more friendly and hospitable. Free wifi and laundry facilities were a definite bonus, as was the lovely lodge area with the warm fire and comfy sofas. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Given all the amenities, it also was surprisingly affordable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydrives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Myself, my girlfriend and family stayed at Wanaka Homestead for 3 nights and thought it was fantastic.
The room we were given included a twin room, en-suite double room, living room/ kitchen/ dining area and a bathroom. All of the facilities were in fine working order and trouble free.
The highlight though was that me and my girlfriend were given a double en-suite room to ourselves as the owner felt we would be too cramped in the other room together which was a fantastic surprise and for no extra cost.
On top of all this there was free unlimited internet and a hot tub outside that is free to use all year round. There are also laundry facilities available.
The location of the Homestead is not bad, it is only a 5 minutes walk or so into town and is quite nice after eating the huge portions you're served in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Spent one night here when travelling around south island. On arrival had a warm welcome from the owner and a tour of the premises. Room was comfortable and well appointed, odge facilities were great, including the outside hot tub, and breakfast was excellent

Conveniently located far enough outside town to be quiet but close enough to be in easy walking distance of the centre the Homestead is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in April 2012, after two nights in the Glacier region and before our five days in Queenstown. Wanaka itself is delightful, and staying at the Homestead made it even better. Our room was lovely and comfortable, Douglas the dog was adorable and comforted us since we were missing our own dog, and the hosts and other guests were so nice! We loved our conversations over (the delicious) breakfast, and got excellent tips on hikes!
We loved staying here and recommend it without any hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwdelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Both my husband and I stayed for 3 nights in the lodge. Ed & Carol are fantastic and friendly hosts. Their lodge is beautiful decorated and makes you feel at home. They have a wonderful fire place where we can sit and relax with a cup of coffee or tea.
The use of laundry is free. The bed rooms and bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was excellent.
We also have free internet service. The lodge is close to the lake and it takes about 10 mins to walk to the town center.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyDelici0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage for 2 nights on 20th and 21st April 2012 and it was a wonderful place to stay with a big living room and kitchen and 2 bedrooms. Bed rooms were nicely done, bathrooms were clean. There were sufficient utensils and tea/ coffee for self catering. i had a 4year old child and there were some toys for him to play. There were enough books and magazines to last a couple of weeks . there was a under floor heating for enitre cottage , though at some places we didnt feel it but there were room heaters also available.
There were spring beds which i particularly dont like as you just sink into it and can hardly move, but perhaps everywhere i went in NZ, it was the same. So this is one area where it was not to my liking but then its a personal preference and its the same everywhere in NZ.
Lastly Ed and Carol were a wonderful host, ready to help anytime and while checking out i found that they didnt charged for my 4 yr old which was a nice gesture from them.
I can surely say that this was the best place i stayed during my entire trip in south island.

amit

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#13 of 52 in Wanaka
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing