We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #8 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed only one night but wished we had planned more. Comfortable bed, first class facilities, enjoyed the spa, great location, lovely breakfast, went for a spin on their loan bikes. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night, but I would definitely recommend it to anyone! The room was beautiful and clean, and Ed was brilliantly helpful and friendly! The breakfast was amazing and the overall surroundings were great. Ed cooked us breakfast early as we had to rush off! Wanaka is a beautiful little town and if you come here, make sure you do the Tiger Moth Flights with Classic flights. Fantastic trip! Thank you :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent two nights here. Our room was large and comfortable; our hosts friendly and helpful. The breakfasts, round a large communal table, were excellent and a pleasant way to meet other guests and share experiences. I would have no hesitation recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Good location on the edge of town, excellent facilities and very good, helpful hosts.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast and the availability of a 24hr tea/coffe/cookie table.
I'd thoroughly recommend the Homestead ----- and the town is wonderful too !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We are so glad that we stayed at Wanaka Homestead Lodge & Cottages for two nights. Ed and Carol were wonderful, helpful and kind hosts. We really appreciated the free (and unlimited) wifi, access to a washing machine and dryer (also free), a beautiful lodge, a well-equipped room, and a hearty breakfast. The Lodge is just a 5 minute walk from the Lake and just a few minutes to town by car. Our room was large and clean, the shower hot and the bed very comfortable. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks, Ed and Carol, for sharing your beautiful lodge with travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorgirl461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This a very good family-run place in the lovely little town of Wanaka. Carol and Ed were gracious hosts. The full breakfast (eggs, bacon, and all the fixings) was excellent. Cold cereals were also offered. I agree with the other comments that this is a restful spot and is convenient for walks by Lake Wanaka into the town itself. We stayed in the Lodge and thought our room, while not large, was perfect for our needs. Since we were about a week into our trip, we appreciated the Homestead's free laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a lovely stay for a week and quite settled in! It's a bit of a walk from town but of course that enables the charming peaceful location. Ed, Carol and Andrew looked after us superbly and gave some spot-on guidance about where to go and what to do. I thought Douglas seemed a little aloof when he realised that I wasn't eating bacon (please remember him when making your breakfast order). Ed's free wifi is quite a bit faster than my Auckland connection but I don't think I abused that too much. Much appreciated though. Loved the huge array of solar water heating tubes on the roof.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank McClann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
359 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
108 reviews
12.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £119 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing