We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to Stay with a Homely Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have just recently stayed three nights at the Wanaka Homestead Lodge. Our room was in the main lodge. Our room for the first night was the South room which was nice but being quite a bit taller than average I found the sloping ceiling a bit restrictive. Lisa kindly arranged to move us to the North room for the next two nights which was wonderful. The room was considerably bigger with a view out to the garden and lots of light.
Lisa was a wonderful host along with Ed who we met on the last morning as he'd been away for the weekend. And of course Douglas the Border Terrier who is very much a part of the experience. What a wonderful quiet little dog. He was never intrusive.
Breakfasts were a great experience with other guests at the large dining table. Full cooked was on offer with eggs prepared in your preferred way, bacon and little hash browns.
It is an easy picturesque walk to the Wanaka town centre. I didn't time the walk but guess it's probably about 20 minutes.
The Wanaka Homestead Lodge is definitely a place we would stay at again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwis-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Our hosts, Edward and Douglas (the dog), were very friendly, hospitable and accommodating. I would agree with others that this IS the place to stay in beautiful Wanaka. The property just has the feel of a nice lake house with all the amenities you could ever want. The rooms are done very nicely and the common areas are done just right as well. I highly recommend buying a bottle of wine from New World in town and enjoying it in front of the fire place outside.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleston31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Room was large and comfortable, and breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Ed, our host, was great with lots of local information and tips to give out. Would highly recommend this B&B to everyone

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmwstw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed only one night at this B&B as our plans where day to day, but what a great place.
The beds were supportive, the room beautifully designed, bathrooms clean and full of light.
Great lounge with wood stove. Full breakfast - terrific. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank mattwitkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay with Ed, at Wanaka Homestead. Our room was big and very comfortable. All facilities were available, from a laundry to bikes for guests to use. The breakfast and living area were very cosy and welcoming after a day out touring. All in all, highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Ed the host was accommodating and welcoming. The room is well appointed with everything you need.The Alpine country style living and louge area is the highlight of the property. The breakfast is a big spread with every possible food you could ever imagine, Cereals, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, toast, james, vegimite, bacon, hashbrown, butter, fruit juice, milk etc etc...
Will definitely recommend this place to anyone who wish a stay with lake shore access plus comfy homestay style accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisChen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We recently stayed here for 7 nights on a ski trip to Wanaka,Its very comfortable and relaxing and Carole and Ed are very accommodating hosts .The breakfasts are excellent fruit yoghurt ,breakfast cereals ,farm fresh eggs and toast .
THe beds are large kings and comfortable ,the room adequate for 2 people ,the bathroom likewise and its quiet and peaceful .Far enough out of town but a few steps to the lakefront and a 15 minute walk to restuarants and shops..You do need a car here but then I would most people travelling around NZ would need one
The only reason I haven't given an excellent rating is because some people may interpret it as 5 star and be disappointed .
In my opinion very good value
Would I recommend it to friends or stay on a return visit .Absolutely

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor room and were very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
800 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
1.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £123 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing