We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #3 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We loved the look and feel of the Homestead Lodge and its location is perfect, a 15-20 minutes walk along the lake to the busy downtown. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom clean, although the purpose of the double showers rather than a shower and a tub was unclear. We loved the big comfortable lounge and green spaces of the place. The free laundry was also a big plus. What kept this from being a 5 star experience was probably due to a recent change in the management - the new managers had been in place for only a week or so and had to be out of town on the very days we were staying at the Homestead. The folks covering for them were uneven, failing to serve more than toast for the hot portion of our first day's breakfast and then killing the eggs the next day, lacking in availability for questions, etc. But for the most part this was a good experience.

Room Tip: Master is nice but there are two showers instead of a tub. If you need a tub, you should ask in adva...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FrozenMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Absolutely lovely property. It is conveniently located on Lake Wanaka, about a 15 min walk to the main part of town. Rooms and bathrooms are fabulous. Dave is incredibly hospitable. Strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lj474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Nothing is perfect but this place is close. Ed and his charming wife were welcoming and helpful. The fixtures and fittings are all of good quality. The scenery is fantastic, the town is about a 15 minute walk along the shore of the lake. Pity it's such a long way away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were only able to stay one night at Wanaka Homestead Lodge, but it was truly delightful. Ed warmly greeted us, showed us the guest coffee, snack & fridge area and then to our room. We stayed in the lodge, in a nicely sized room with a good sized bathroom and large closet. It's a very short walk down to the lake, through a gorgeous park. A quick drive into town gets you to a lot of great restaurants, most right on the lake. We had a great cooked to order breakfast in the beautiful dining room, and really enjoyed comparing travel tips with our fellow guests.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NickiandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This place is lovely, we wished we had time to stay longer! 4 rooms in the lodge itself and 2 cottages with the managers living off-site (although just a few mins away if needed). So it felt very relaxed, hardly saw the other guests. Lots of common areas inside/outside including a hot tub, patio and BBQ. Rooms were very comfortable, clean, spacious. Only 2-3 TV channels but the wifi is good. The town and restaurants are say 15mins walk away (mostly along the edge of the lake) but we opted to drive it after a long day and it took 30 seconds. The new managers were wonderful, very welcoming and relaxed about a slightly later check out and staying to use the wifi on the patio for a few hours to book up the next part of our trip. That made a real difference to us and a nice change to the draconian 10am check outs we've experienced elsewhere along our route!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexjrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. The lake is an easy walk across the street and we were able to walk into town for dinner. Our hosts were extremely helpful, including providing ice packs when my husband hurt his back. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JEC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Wanaka Homestead is a nice homely lodge which is located quite centrally to the main attractions.

They were very helpful in organizing and/or recommending things to do or see in Wanaka (which in itself is a really beautiful place)!

Room was also cozy and breakfast selection plentiful. Breakfast is also a great opportunity to mingle with other guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outdatedmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
848 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: £127 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing