We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodations in a beautiful setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #10 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cataula, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodations in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at one of the cozy little cottages. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The hostess was friendly and accommodating. She recommended several places to eat. Both places we tried were wonderful. The Homestead would be the perfect place to use as a home base while exploring Wanaka and the rest of the central west-coast region. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiontamerCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    43
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
178
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the time we arrived to when we sadly had to leave , our hosts made us feel very welcome. The rooms downstairs were ideal, great lounge to relax in, with a bookcase full of books, sadly no time to read them all:-)))). The house is in a great spot, you can walk down to the lake and enjoy the lovely views and the eateries are divine. The breakfast was wholesome and home cooked breakfast if you wanted it. The are towels to use if you do swim in the lake. Will high recommend this B and B.

Room Tip: The room at the end had a lovely comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This was truly a memorable stay.

The house is beautiful - large, comfortable rooms with everything you could possibly need for a stay in wonderful Wanaka.

The hot tub was perfect after a hike on one day, and a horse ride the next. It absolutely helped with the muscles and was a real treat.

The lounge room is a standout - beautiful fireplace, TV, games, books, CD player .... We loved staying up late in front of the fire with our books, card games and a DVD one night. It was our little piece of heaven.

Sue and Dave, the hosts, are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We couldn't ask for anything more.
Shout out to Pam also who was genuinely interested in our stay and just all round delightful!

We are a couple in our late 20's / early 30's and had hesitations about a B&B and it's suitability for a younger couple but we've already vowed to come back - it was the most relaxed we've felt in years!

As for Wanaka - stay at least 2-3 nights, the town is beautiful. We highly recommend both Francesca's Italian Restaurant and Relishes Cafe for dinner. Two of the best meals we've eaten in all of New Zealand.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Zaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a great little spot to find in Wanaka. The house was very comfortable and the hosts were welcoming. We enjoyed breakfast and using the bikes provided to ride around town. It's best for couples wanting a quiet location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseJackMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We loved this place - it's just cosy and comfortable. The managers are really lovely and we felt at home straight away in our little 'Ruby' cottage. There is a lovely garden, outdoor hot tub, outdoor and indoor fireplaces, a laundry and a spacious breakfast and lounge room for B&B guests. Everything is kept in the same comfy cottage or country lodge style.

Room Tip: Hiking in Mount Aspiring National Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassandiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Wanaka Homestead. Dave & Sue were friendly hosts, suggesting dinner spots and making reservations for us. They served us a lovely cooked to order hot breakfast each morning. We were 2 parties, so we stayed in 2 rooms, each of which was good sized with comfy beds, excellent wi-if, and clean bathrooms with good strong & hot showers. The location was great, a nice walk along the lake to town, so close enough but quiet in the evenings. Dave and Sue also provided good tips for hiking and sight seeing, and for the most scenic route to our next destination. We stupidly left a good shirt of my husband's hanging in the closet, and Dave went out of his way to drive it to a location where he'd recommended for our hike after check out, and saw us and delivered the shirt. How amazing is that kind of service, it certainly made an impression! Thank you for a lovely stay at beautiful Wanaka.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our first "B&B" experience and we loved it. Dave & Sue were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was awesome. Fed us for our full day of hiking and biking. We stayed 3 nights, I would have been sad if we stayed any less. It is a short,nice walk to town. Great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing