We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Had 5 nights in the barn at Wanaka Homestead and it was just lovely. We were in Wanaka to ski. There were 3 couples and 1 child all travelling together. The barn had 3 large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. A big living area/kitchen/meals. Facilities of the complex included a drying room and lovely outdoor fireplace, BBQ and hot tub! Would highly recommend staying here if you had a group of 7 or 8. It was all very comfortable and enjoyable and hopefully we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wq9hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    45
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
182
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coastal northeast Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

The Wanaka Homstead is a purpose-built stone and cedar lodge-type facility, as opposed to a converted home. It reminded me very much of places I have stayed in Colorado and the Pacific Northwest in the US. It is situated in a quiet and attractive residential setting about a mile or so from the business district. It is very convenient to the lake, with access through a local park to a walkway around the lake, skirting a scenic vineyard.

The public areas (lounge, dining) were very pretty and nicely appointed. Our room was compact, but satisfactory. Bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was small, but adequate, with a small sink, no vanity for laying out toiletries and a shower with floor tiles graded to drain water and a shower curtain to contain errant blasts. Bedroom and bathroom were clean. I would not describe the room as plush by any means, but for a night, it was certainly fine for us.

Laundry facilities are available for guests to use at no charge and the outdoor areas (barbeque, etc.) are nicely done. There is plenty of parking available for guests.

Breakfast was the usual NZ cereals, fruit and yogurt as well as a very good cooked option. I had wonderful scrambled eggs and bacon and my husband had French toast, all quite good.

We recommend the Wanaka Homestead as a very nice place to use as a base when exploring the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed only one night in the Wanaka Homestead and had a fantastic time, Wanaka itself is beautiful and the homestead was an amazing place to spend time. We borrowed some bikes (for free) from the homestead and went for a ride along the lakeside. The views are amazing- well worth doing. We ate at the homestead that night using their barbeque, and relaxed in the outdoor hot tub with a bottle of wine (which we were given to celebrate our honeymoon) before going to our excellent room with a fantastic double shower. One of the best places we stayed in New Zealand, with the most friendly and helpful hosts- thank you!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_like_doh-nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed here for two nights and can't recommend the Homestead highly enough. The bedrooms are wonderfully comfortable and spacious, in particular the beds and sheets were fantastic. A very substantial continental breakfast is included in the prize with a 10 dollar surcharge for a cooked breakfast available. Carol, Ed and Maryanne are fantastic hosts, very attentive to guests needs, helpful with all questions and able to make the stay in the homestead completely relaxing, with a lovely lounge to chill out in and a large hot-tub for easing those post paragliding and walking muscles. It is a 15 minute walk into the town centre but it is a picturesque walk along the lake side.
The homestead compares very favourably with lots of four and five star accommodation we have stayed in and for the prize it is incredible value for money. A wonderful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdcphm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

Wanaka Homestead is a lovely lodge located 15-20 minutes (walking) - a few minutes driving - from Wanaka. Manning reception was Ed Stevens, the owner, along with Carol, his wife. Ed was very nice in taking me around to all of the extensive facilities that they offer. This included a hot tub, mountain bikes, washer and dryer - with soap.

My room was nicely outfitted with a television - New Zealand channels, coffee and tea making supplies, desk, and free Wi-Fi. Ed was most helpful in reviewing the restaurant options and made a call to Relishes Cafe where I would have dinner.

Breakfast at the Wanaka Homestead was the usual fare of cereals, juice, and the standard cooked items. A

This is a first rate operation and exceptional for the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

only stayed one night but it was nice. you get bicycles to ride to the town centre and the hot tub is for guests to soak in. pity i came home only after 9.30pm and it was already shut but can imagine it would be really nice to sit in the tub and watch the stars. you can help yourself to cookies, the internet, music and magazines/books in the living room. after breakfast, we took our coffees and walked out onto the garden and crossed a little park and found ourselves on the shores of lake wanaka. very charming little place and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalaysiaHaliboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

We were surprised to have such a different experience than previous reviewers, but this was the only lodging disappointment during our 16 night stay in NZ.
We stayed just one night in a cottage which was quite large and roomy, but not very cozy. The living room had 2 couches and coffee table but no pictures on the walls, although there were hooks there where pictures might have been. Kitchen was equipped with all the basics, except paper towels would have been appreciated. Bathroom was large but lacked counter space. Travel bags/makeup had to be placed on the floor. The shower looked like an afterthought placed in the corner. Bedroom was comfortable and had several windows that opened for fresh air.
We had the most concerns over the cleanliness: hair in the bathtub, large spiderwebs in the living room skylight, dead fly on the coffee table, spider webs on the entry door and window, leaves all over cottage entry, door mat askew, line laundry and tool shed viewed from cottage kitchen/dining windows.
I did speak with the managers about some of these issues when we checked out and they were truly interested and concerned and they also adjusted our rate which was unexpected but appreciated.
I do think that a bit more attention to detail in the cottage would help, especially at the rates that are quoted. We liked the location, access to laundry facilities, managers.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lislandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazza99, Manager at Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
We tried everything possible to accommodate this guest with their booking. Prior to arrival they wanted to book the two bedroom cottage for one night only and we explained to them that we did not normally do this during peak season. However we relented and let them have the cottage for one night. They then wanted us to give them the two bedroom cottage at the one bedroom rate and we explained to them again we do not usually do this during the peak season (all of this information is on our website). On checkout they made a scene at Reception about cobwebs and artwork and having to pay the two bedroom rate. On inspection of the complaint there was one small cobweb up high in a skylight and I explained that we were in the process of hanging new artwork in the cottage. In the interests of guest satisfaction we let them have the cottage at the one bedroom rate. I am disappointed that they did not raise any of these issues with us when we showed them into the cottage on their arrival and have chosen to post these comments despite all our efforts to accommodate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages

Property: Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Address: 1 Homestead Close, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaka Homestead Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing